We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“daughter loves this place”

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
Ranked #1 of 152 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast's largest natural history museum features dinosaurs, whale skeletons, live animals, walk-through dioramas, special exhibits, hands-on science education and accessible scientists. IMLS National Medal Finalist, 2014.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“daughter loves this place”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

alot of history and exploration, it is about time that Raleigh finally has something that the hole family can go to and enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmanrocksteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    351
    50
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The museum is next to the North Carolina Museum of History. We thought the museum had many good exhibits and lots of live animals to see. All the different whale bones showed us just how big they were. We loved the huge dino. You don't realize until you stand next to the dinosour the size they were. This museum was a good way to spend an hour or so. The kids will love it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not boring”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Yes it's a museum, but not boring and fun for all ages.

Very informative and I would go again. Check out the website for different displays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good excursion when you have an hour to fill.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I only had an afternoon to spend in Raleigh. We started at the Museum of History and then walked across the mall to the Museum of Natural Sciences. It was a very pleasant experience, though we were disappointed to miss the butterfly room - it closes two hours before the museum does during the week. However, we enjoyed wandering around and seeing the different exhibits. Well worth the time to go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivansheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big city museum at no cost!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love the Museum of Natural Sciences, and now that they've expanded we love them even more! It's four floors of fun. My daughter and I can spend all day there. We usually start at the top and work our way down (the opposite of most people, especially the field trip groups, so it helps you avoid crowds!). The Butterfly House is not open on Mondays, which is often disappointing since we tend to go then, but when it is open, it's really neat to see the butterflies and the sloth.

The new section seems more for older kids (my daughter is 3 1/2), but we still enjoy walking around and seeing the exhibits. The movie theater inside the globe is especially neat and is a nice respite after walking for a couple hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelfan10706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing