We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited with my daughters school”

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast's largest natural history museum features dinosaurs, whale skeletons, live animals, walk-through dioramas, special exhibits, hands-on science education and accessible scientists. IMLS National Medal Finalist, 2014.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visited with my daughters school”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great museum it has so much history in it. It was clean in the museum and bathrooms too. I hostee did a good job showing use the history of the events and explain to the children.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,261
    337
    45
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Saturday afternoon venue with the family!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our family doesn't spend as much time in Raleigh as we like since we live 45 minutes away. So when we decided to spend an afternoon in the city, we looked for something to do and stumbled on the Museum of Natural Sciences on Tripadvisor. We were not left dissappointed! We've spent a lot of money at other venues (aquariums, etc) that were not HALF as nice, educational, and CLEAN as the museum. I felt like a little boy looking at all of the interesting exhibits and artifacts. I've never seen such detailed exhibits of animals, fossils, and natural beauty all under one roof. Our family HIGHLY recommends this museum to any family looking for a low cost event the entire family can enjoy! TWO THUMBS UP!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The museum expanded (doubled) this year. If you want to see everything, it will take two days. "Like" the museum on Facebook to hear about Science Cafe and other special events.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Titanic exhibit fabulous”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

All my party had time for at the Museum of Natural Sciences was the Titanic exhibit; this, however, could not have been better! The lighting and music set the mood and the artifacts were captivating and well explained. Audio tours were available for individuals, but my party did not partake in these (you are offered the option at the box office.) Definitely don't miss this exhibit; whether you already know everything about the Titanic or are clueless, it is invaluable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Titanic Exhibit is good, the new section of the museum is fantastic”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

So first, this museum is FREE unless you see the special traveling exhibit (currently Titanic, which I recommend). Next, it now coveres 2 full buildings. And best of all they have a veriety of hand-on rooms where the kids can really experience science. My sons loved the room with all the microscopes and experiments. My oldest was able to go into a special lab and perform an experiment to determine what an unknown substance was. There is a room full of computers with some incredible fun holographic programs. Over in the older part of the museum, take your little ones to the Discovery Room and dress up as a bee, or perhaps a dinosaur, explore one of a dozen boxes with preschool/early elementary appropriate science learning experiences (complete with instructions) or listen to a master storyteller. And if that isn't enough, make sure to hit one of the live animal shows where you can perhaps pet a snake, or maybe a dove!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcramernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing