We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Jewel”
Review of City Market

City Market
Ranked #50 of 151 things to do in Raleigh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized by the National Register of Historic Places, this is a trendy shopping and restaurant district located in Raleigh's historic section.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downtown Jewel”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

There location in the heart of downtown Raleigh is a plus. There are a number of quaint restaurants. The Marbles Childrens Museum includes an IMax movie theatre. I can walk to the City Market from my church.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

City Market is a gem in downtown Raleigh. I love going to Benelux Cafe on a Saturday or Sunday to get a cup of coffee and read a good book. We live in downtown so we can walk there but the downside is the parking... Sometimes it can be difficult to find a nearby spot. Solution: Parking Ramps (you just have to walk a little), ride your bike there, or walk/run if you're in the neighborhood.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bub2674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Potential not yet being met”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I think the City Market could be doing and presenting more than it already does. Hard to know what each of the places actually are, what type of crowd, what type of food. I look forward to going back and trying again, hope it will be easier next time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Farmers market”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

huge indoor and outdoor market, plenty of parking spaces. Fun anytime of year you go. In October they have pumpkins etc. there is food to eat too. wear your walking shoes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx ny
Level Contributor
237 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“It was nice but not too many options.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It was ok but compare to other markets I been to like in Cleveland ohio this is very minimu in options. Still a nice visit if you have the extra time in your hands.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wearetheones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing