We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Davidson, United States
1 review
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the DoubleTree! The staff could no have been nicer or more helpful. I was in DC for a doctor's appointment and it was fabulous to go to this hotel following a ling day. My one regret is that I couldn't stay longer and enjoy all of the amenities!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Georgia K,

Not sure if you got some of your DoubleTrees mixed up in your travels. If you did stay with us thanks for the glowing remarks but if you were in DC glad to hear you had the same excellent experience there as you would here.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    301
    185
    89
    36
See reviews for
298
126
30
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel was ok, a little dated but ok until I got ready to take a shower and the faucet broke. The next day was a very long work day for me. I left the room at 7am and returned to a dirty room @ 7pm. I stopped by the front desk, on my way to dinner after working 12 hours, to request housekeeping and to report the broken faucet. I returned two hours later and my room was still dirty and the faucet was still broken. I was livid!!! The clerk at the front desk had fresh towels delivered and came to pick up as much as possible. I was very disappointed. After a long day at work, I just wanted to go to my room and relax with a night cap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Shonda T,

Looks like our Engineering and Housekeeping teams missed several opportunities to have made a better impression. Thanks for writing the review, it will be shared with our team members

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great place to stay on a budget. If you happen to be racing they are centrally located to the race start and finish. Front desk staff went out of their way to take care of all needs and the cookies were superb. Rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Beanydoc,

We certainly think we provide a good value and excellent service for our guest. We have many annual road races in the Greater Downtown Raleigh most recently we hosted the IronMan and Rock and Roll Marathons which proved to be a hugh success. Thanks for the review

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

During check in my roon was switched from the 2nd floor to the ground floor directly across from the employee break room and laundry service because I had three teenage daughters, one in college, all whom were refered to as children. When I inquired about the switch I was told because we weren't the only ones in the hotel. There was no fridge or microwave as promised. The plumbing leaked all night. Lastly, when my Jeep was broken into the staff was rude and the head of security asked me if I had accidently misplaced the items. As a doctor who frequently travels, I have never been treated so rudely and indignantly in my life. Do NOT stay hee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Poesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Poesfox,

No doubt that you are a seasoned traveler and loyal Tripadvisor participated. Will certainly review all your comments with our staff for better future results. Thanks

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Would stay here next time we come to Raleigh. Came down to participate in the Ironman. All staff was very accommodating to myself and my family. Very clean, very attentive! Definitely a first class hotel at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PghPiratesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
PghPiratesFan,

Hosting the IronMan event in Raleigh is awesome! Thanks for the 5 rating review and please come back for next years event.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

All staff at the Brownstone always seem glad to see you. Rooms are dependably clean and well-maintained. Restaurant staff are extremely polite and accommodating. On-line reservations procedure can be very frustrating and tricky. Too easy to be corralled into the prepay option--too difficult to correct. Like the Brownstone very much--stay there whenever possible. However, I do not care for the HILTON much at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Russel C

Glad to read that you find the staff and hotel enjoyable . We value your business and hope that future visits to Raleigh include the DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone. We love our location close to Downtown, NCSU and Cameron Village Shopping. Please come back.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Room did not have fridge, kind of disappointed for the amount of the room stay. They had wrong type of room at check in but they worked it out. Not a bad hotel, close to everything....and filling out this review is awful..telling me I dont have enough characters or too many repeated characters...hopefully I am at 20 NOW

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Maureen W.

Thanks for taking the time and writing a review. We do not have microwaves and refrigerators in all our rooms but we do have a limited supply that we offer complimentary on a first come bases. Glad you liked the hotel and the fantastic location.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#21 of 86 in Raleigh
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 86 in Raleigh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing