We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveler rating
613
333
205
102
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
333
205
102
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treecameron villagefront deskhillsborough streetwarm cookiesbanquet staffnorth carolina state universitybusiness meetingthe staff was greatthe entire staffconvenient locationgreat customer serviceymcamariezulemacampusanthony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had to change hotels for my stay in Raleigh this past week - I was not dissatisfied. The rooms are quiet and clean and they have a nice restaurant in the lobby. I liked the fitness equipment too. My only complaint is that there needs to be a wired connection to the internet in each room. They also need a few other APs to handle large bookings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Angela B,

Thanks for posting a review and the great rating. Glad you enjoyed yourself, the hotel and great location in downtown Raleigh Please come back when in town. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I really enjoyed our stay. From the moment I walked into the lobby and was offered a warm walnut chocolate chip cookie at checkin until I checked out the next day, I felt very comfortable and well cared for. The staff was amazing. We forgot a comb and when we called for a complimentary one, it was delivered in moments. The room was clean and nice. We slept well. It was so close to NCSU we could have walked there. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Xena126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Xena126,

We always have plenty of warm chocolate chip cookies, but really happy that you were impressed with the staff. We work hard to make sure things are ready for your arrival and try to anticipate your needs prior to arrival. Very happy that you would return if visiting the area. Happy travels.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff and management were very accommodating. The stay was very good. The staff were helpful and provided valuable information when requested. Staff courteous and friendly. Location excellent. I would stay at hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Edward L,

Excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return if you were in the Raleigh area in the future. I will share your comments with the staff regarding their efforts. As for our location, I could not agree more. Next to NCSU, walking distance to Cameron Village shopping and minutes from downtown. Plus free parking. Thanks

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very cheerful and attentive staff. Katie was our server and made us all feel right at home! If you wish to work out make sure to take advantage of the YMCA across the street (the front desk will give you a pass) rather than the fitness center on premise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhoderun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

RHODERUN,

Nice review. Thanks. Katie on our AM morning staff is great! Most mornings when the hotel has good occupancy we have a full breakfast buffet with an omelet station. Glad you were made to feel right at home at the DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is an old, bordering on run down, hotel with a new registration and breakfast area. Underneath some lipstick refurbishment it is still a pig! Narrow dark hallways, splatter painted original tiny elevators, small rooms, no microwave ovens, no refrigerators, cramped and poorly refitted bathrooms, the total lack of sound proofing and barely operable sliding glass doors that display empty balconies (no furniture!) are all unacceptable for the premium rates that we were charged. Although the room and bath appeared to be reasonably clean we could not really be sure about this due to the worst lighting we have ever experienced. To be fair, the rooms have been refurbished with comfortable bedding and linens. The staff was very pleasant. But overall we have to wonder why Hilton would put their name on this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank TerryCarol4348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

TerryCarol 4348

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you did not feel you received the value you deserved and regret that the maintenance issues were not addressed sooner. We appreciate your time and input and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit our area so we might show you the improved quality stay you expect and deserve from our brand.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews