We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference in Raleigh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed October 24, 2013

All behind the scenes planning were evident when our group began the conference. The space was comfortable and offered downtime opportunities for people to unwind via fitness, parks and walking around town (safely).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Zalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

My new husband and I absolutely LOVED having our reception and staying at this property! The location is optimal in that it is very convenient to places that we love going to downtown. Also, every time we walked into the lobby, we were struck at how welcome we felt :)
We especially enjoyed working with Natasha Murray, the Senior Catering Sales Manager. Natasha went out of her way--above and beyond, more accurately--to ensure that everything was to our liking. She is a pleasure to work with and treats you like you have the only event going on at the hotel (which we knew was actually extremely busy the weekend of our reception)!
The food at the reception was superb; even MORE tasty than what we remembered from the tasting :) Guests seemed to especially enjoy the prime rib and shrimp and grits!
The complimentary immaculate and spacious suite was gravy on the top of our already-wonderful experience; we would definitely recommend this hotel above all others to anyone visiting our area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I attended a conference at the hotel and the start of the conference was before check in. The desk clerk told us that although there were rooms available none of the rooms at the discounted conference rate were available. Seemed a bit poor to me. The room and bathroom were in need of repair... broken tile, pealing wallpaper, etc. The bed, though was divine! The conference food was very good except there could have been more gluten free options. The heating and cooling in the conference center never seemed to be right... either too cold or way too hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Charlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have to applaud the staff, especially Natasha Murray. Although our group was relatively small, she went out of her way to make sure our service was outstanding. I apologize for not catching their names, but the bartender, the older male server and the catering manager were also superb.

In addition, I got nothing but raves from my guests regarding their rooms and the hotel. The food at the reception was wonderful and all servers were professional, courteous and attentive to my guests. Every request we made was fulfilled quickly and thoroughly. I will most certainly recommend the Brownstone to our friends who have daughters the same age as ours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously and had no issues. However, this trip I was not impressed. I stayed for two nights total. The first full day, I left the hotel at 7:30am and returned around 2:15pm. When I got back my room had not been cleaned and there was 3 members of housekeeping on my floor. Two were just standing in the hall, not doing anything. About 3:15pm housekeeping knocked on my door to clean my room. At this point, they'd had at least 7.5 hours to clean my rooom and looked confused when I told them I didn't want them to clean my room. I also found it to be very loud (doors slamming, etc). I doubt I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Holley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Doubletree- Brownstone was the perfect venue of our guests. While i thought I wanted rooms downtown, i found those properties lacking in true Southern hospitality. Supply and demand was certainly an issue, but luckily when i called the Brownstone, Derek Allen knew exactly how to work with this MOB (mother of the bride)! The flexibility was much appreciated and his demeanor every time we called was both professional and friendly. The staff on the weekend of the wedding was accomodating and made our guests feel welcome. When i arrived on rehearsal day and our suite wasn't ready, they put us in a room to get our shower and then moved our bags to our suite before we returned. I can't recommend this property highly enough. Please give them the opportunity to earn your business!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel met all of my expectations. I travel for business several times a year and am always pleased when our meetings are held at the Double Tree in Raleigh. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and always willing to spend whatever time needed to adddress a question or concern. The food at the grill was good and the meals served for our conference was certainly above average for conference food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#20 of 87 in Raleigh
210 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Crabtree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $131 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing