We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Stay....Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome Stay....Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great place to stay...the staff was warm and welcoming and I can't say that I have received better service then I did staying with them. The food was great, it was presented well. The hotel was extremely clean almost to perfection! Banquet staff was great to deal with my meeting was a super success and would book there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GMofHamptonMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    261
    165
    72
    31
See reviews for
262
109
27
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. The location was good. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the location of our destination. The breakfast was very good and efficient. The rooms were very nice and the bathrooms were very clean. the beds were very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Derek Allen made our family reunion a huge success! "Toone Family Reunion - 2013!" My family is raving about the quality of their hotel stay. The meeting rooms were appropriate in size, seating, and food distribution. The food was absolutely delicious! The entire hotel staff was professional and courteous. We no doubt will continue to use Double Tree to host all future family reunion events. I look to use your hotel for future church and other business events. Your hotel comes highly recommended! I am a personal "sales advocate" for your hotel. It is conveniently located to main highways, RDU Airport, and other nearby towns where my family traveled from. Congratulations on a job well done (July 5 - 7, 2013)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was impressed with the great service from the desk through to the maid service. Everyone was friendly and very accomodating. With the exception of somewhat squishy mattresses, the hotel and its staff was first rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank YoRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you to everyone at the this hotel for making our family reunion a success during the July 4th weekend!!! We enjoyed a classy banquet on Friday evening, a family dance on Saturday evening after we returned from Pullen Park, and church service on Sunday. The customer service provided by the banquet staff was awesome. We also appreciated the excellent service provided by Brandon at the front desk. I wish I had more names because everyone was so accommodating for our many requests. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was friendly. The only negative (if I had to mention one would be the slow elevators). However, the hotel is upgraded and I know this isn't easy or inexpensive to upgrade. Great service from Angie in the restaurant on Sunday. And a very special thanks to Annette Luck (who was an absolute gem) and Faison for his care, compassion, sympathy, and understanding when a family member had a health scare on Sunday. We've hosted our reunion here twice and we will definitely return.
Kudos to Lucas and the sales staff as well.
(Sorry for the rushed rambling review...)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackPrincess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had many guests traveling to our wedding in late June from out of town, and wanted somewhere close to downtown (that was reasonably priced) for guests to stay. Additionally, as some were only in town for a short time, they were not planning on renting cars, so we wanted them to be within walking (or short cab ride) distance of some of the more “interesting” sites. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University worked out great because it was close to downtown, Cameron Village, NC State, and Pullen Park. There is also a restaurant in the hotel, which worked out great for those not wanting to explore. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the staff was very accommodating. Some of my family needed handicap-accessible rooms, while others had requested adjoining rooms. The hotel was able to accommodate them for the most part.

I had previously stayed in this hotel when it was under different ownership, and it has changed a lot! I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel, especially if you are doing something at NC State. The only drawbacks are there is no shuttle from the airport and there is no swimming pool. However, the free cookies more than make up for that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Heather at the Doubletree by Hilton hotel was great to work with when we were planning the wedding reception! The venue was beautiful and the food prepared by the chef was delicious! My wedding reception exceeded all expectations - it was definitely a first class event! Heather met with my husband and I numerous times in the months leading up to the big evening event and she always responded to my phone calls and emails promptly. Our guests continue to tell us weeks after the reception that they had so much fun! We cannot say enough about how happy we are and how much fun we had at the Doubletree!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#29 of 83 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 83 in Raleigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing