We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Mil-Ball”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I held an event at this hotel and I can honestly say that the work done was fantastic! The lead caterer did a fantastic job helping me (first time event planner and full time student) create a fantastic event. The day of went very smoothly everyone eventually received their meal. We had a little trouble with the tech but that may have been our personal fault. The staff members assisted in lighting candle in the decor glass even when that was not on the bill. They provided extra appetizers without additional charge! I will say two things; the cooks and staff members were a little loud during the event. But overall they were excellent and I would love to work with them again! Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    301
    185
    89
    36
See reviews for
298
126
30
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Poor drainage of water from bathtub was explained as "all rooms on this floor are like this due to design of bathrooms"! It's unacceptable to be standing in slow draining water in a normal shower. Maintenance guy just used draining fluid but it did not do any good.

We called their front desk to report that we left a piece of clothing the day we checked out. The staff promised to look into it the next day as he did not have the key to the lost item closet. Never heard from him again!

Room Tip: We were in Rm 814. It appeared that all rooms on this floor had slow drainage problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to make the necessary corrections. However, I would like to apologize for the other inconveniences as well. I will be sure to follow up with you regarding your items as soon as possible. Thanks again for your review and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Average hotel, very bad conf room at ground floor. No cell phone reception at all. Company had booked it for 3 week long users testing session so we were kind of stuck there for long time. Very depressing and smelly after a while. Would not recommend again to someone for more then few hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hitesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My company has used this location for many events that usually happen around the same time each year. Unfortunately they are around the same time as NCSU's graduation. Derek always takes the time and somehow finds us the rooms we require for our guests. He is very helpful and goes the extra mile to take care of our requests. Thanks Derek for all of your hard work!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently held a 3 day conference at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University. The staff went out of their way to be flexible and accommodating during the planning process, and helped us out as our needs changed. The catering staff was enthusiastic and efficient, and even the audio visual went off without a hitch! Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ConferencePlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have used this Location many of times for various reasons. The catering team is top notch as well as the rest of the staff. Everytime that we call for a meeting Heather is always able to figureout where to fit you in if there is a lot going on. No matter if this is your first event or 20th, you will be treated like the valuable customer that you are. I would highly recommend using this location for a meeting space in the Downtown Raleigh Area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My stay at the Double Tree Hotel was very enjoyable, the rooms were very neat and clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the hotel does not have a inside or outside pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tereasa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#21 of 86 in Raleigh
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 86 in Raleigh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing