We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over and above all our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Ang,Ire,Nc
1 review
“Over and above all our expectations”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our senior group of women get together twice a year to visit and celebrate everyone's birthday. We sight see, catch up on family and friends, eat out, shop and share news of our hometown where we grew up and graduated from high school together. Our stay at the Double Tree was fantastic!
The manager and all staff members went over and above to extend hospitality to us. The rooms are large, parking is ample and the comp. breakfast is great. We can highly recommend this hotel. It is near NC State University, with easy access to the downtown area and State Government offices, museums, fine restaurants and shopping. Thanks you manager Derek Allen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    299
    184
    88
    36
See reviews for
292
123
30
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Double Tree by Hilton in Raleigh (Brownstone University) has been the host hotel for the past two years for the RunRaleigh Half Marathon. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks amazing, The hotel is conveniently located within 3 blocks of Cameron Village which is the race venue. It is also centrally located in Raleigh so it allows easy navigation for out of towners to get around and visit our city. There are numerous restaurants nearby as well as many highlights of Raleigh such as NC State University, Glenwood South, Pullen Park, and Downtown Raleigh. The Double Tree has been great to work with and RunRaleigh Races looks forward to a continued partnership.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RunRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were visiting NC State University and selected this hotel for its proximity to the main campus. When we arrived at the hotel, I had this distinct impression, this hotel was not originally built to be a Doubletree Hotel but rather some other lower class hotel chain that was later converted to be a Doubletee.

First, the location is definitely not walkable to NC State, but the Visitors Center is less than a 10 minute car ride to get there from the hotel.

The service was 100% Doubletree. The staff is fantastic and will do most anything to ensure your stay is enjoyable as possible. From the checkin process to restaurant recommendations (The Pit is only a 10 minute drive away) to checkout, the staff was very helpful.

The room was okay, but I have stayed in better looking Doubletree Hotel rooms. The room was clean (we upgraded to a suite) and there was plenty of room for a rollaway without knocking our knees into it. The room also had a sofa bed so both our kids had their own bed.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it is fantastic. From the food selections and the quality is was quite good. The best part of the restaurant is the friendliness of the staff who explained the different choices and though we didn't purchase a breakfast with our reservation, offered us a substantial discount as we were polite to her and she to us.

It's the little things you notice that make a difference between a nice hotel stay and a memorable hotel stay.

Room Tip: There is no view per se from any side of the hotel, so upgrade to a nice room to give yourself plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I spent a few days in this hotel during a business trip. Mostly, it's fine: the room is convenient, the staff is pleasant and effective, the location is fine as far as I could judge, etc.

Two serious issues:
- It took me a couple of days to figure out, but the air conditioner in my room was a bit noisy, and I think it woke me up a couple of times.
- The really grose part was the glass I had in my room. It was clear that it wasn't cleaned for a long while. I'll try to attach a photo of this.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBAD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Service is very good. Clean hotel. The lobby was well-kept and beautifully decorated. Front desk staff were very helpful. Does not have complimentary breakfast, but the food quality is very good. May hear parking lot noise on lower floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I travel lots-for business and to participate in running events. Our room had a funky oder but has a balcony door that slides open to provide fresh air. We requested a mini refrigerator for our room to put my medication in and to keep yogurt and snacks. They brought a frig, plugged it in, and we thought all was great. It didn't work. Neither did our toilet, which leaked. I took a shower in the bathroom ( the water pressure is great ) and slipped and fell when trying to get out...there are no sticky adhesives on the bathtub floor and no rubber bath mats provided. We mentioned these things to the front desk in the morning. When we came back to our room later in the afternoon we were told they had been handled. They had not. These things have been mentioned twice and still not handled. There is no pool and the fitness center is very tiny and on the two times we went to use it, not very clean and does not provide exercise mats or hand weights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome staff and service!! I received overwhelming positive comments about our event at Doubletree Hotel. The quality of food and service was great! I would highly recommend this hotel for your next event!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Glenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 86 in Raleigh
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 86 in Raleigh
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing