We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for Business, Close to NC State University” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Business, Close to NC State University”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I helped plan an event for NC State University and we chose the Doubletree Brownstone due to its close proximity to campus. The entire staff was professional, accommodating, and helpful. We worked with both the sales and catering offices, and they were willing to work within our state budget. I also enjoyed the friendly, positive attitudes of the staff and the quick return emails and phone calls. The renovation looks beautiful! We will definitely use the Doubletree Brownstone again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    281
    177
    81
    34
See reviews for
279
111
29
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We traveled to Raleigh to attend a wedding just a few blocks away from the hotel on Hillsborough Street. We stayed the night before at a hotel in Cary, to visit with my fiance's parents.

On Saturday morning, at around 10:30 we called to ask if we could request an early check-in. I expected to need to wait, but did not expect to simply be told that check-in was at 3. I asked to be put on a list, and that we would arrive around 1:30 and would like to check-in early if possible. We arrived at 12 and dropped off our luggage - was told that the earliest check-in would be at 3. When we came back through the lobby an hour later, another couple was checking in, so we decided to try, and sure enough we were checked in.

The room was nice, but dated. The large sliding door could probably be heard by our neighbors above and below us, but for the most part, it was a good, clean room. No fridge.

When we returned after the wedding I was surprised to find the room at 75 degrees, when we had left the thermostat close to 68. I called the front desk when turning the thermostat down only shut off the unit - leaving the room at 75 degrees, The clerk told me that the building was on "heat mode" and 75 was as cool as our room would get.

When I brought up the a/c issue at checkout, explaining that I was disappointed and uncomfortable, the only response I was given was that they are working on it, but the building's system was a "two pipe system." Not to seem bratty, but as a guest paying $150, I'd rather have stayed down the street for $99 with a window unit.

I have received no follow-up from anyone with the Brownstone and am incredibly disappointed with my experience. I expected more from the brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - street/parking lot was loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTripp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay while staying at our property. We again apologize for your discomfort and inconvenience. If you would please contact me at your earliest conveniences so we can further discuss this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel is situated in a good location, close to NC State and about a mile walk to downtown. Rooms are OK. Would recommend even numbered rooms if you want to avoid street noise (which is not bad, but truck traffic seems to increase around 630am). Rooms are adequately sized, shower is low if you're over 5'9" high. Free wifi is a plus.

Hotel service is very good and that alone would suggest a repeat. HVAC system was not functional the first night, but it was fixed by my second night. Overall hotel would benefit form some sprucing up.

And, I'm not sure where else to recommend staying downtown. We walked by the Velvet Cloak Inn a couple blocks away; it looked like something out of a Hitchcock movie and there was only one car there. And a colleague stayed at the Clarion downtown and said it was "tired". So, sounds like Raleigh in general could benefit from some improvement of its accommodations.

Room Tip: pick room on even side of building if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank targhee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

One can only imagine the anxiety one faces bringing about 15 out of state guests to a new town for a fun filled wedding weekend. There was so much to plan.

From the first greeting by Mr. Derek Allen, the entire staff worked seamlessly and efficiently to make every guest feel special. They were courteous,professional, caring and just wonderful.Mr. Allen had a great team with Heather and Brian who promptly responded to any question in planning this event.

The hotel is minutes by car from downtown Raleigh,a few minute walk to Cameron Village and NC State and the Triangle is easily accessible from this location.

The hotel is newly refurbished. The rooms were comfortable and the decor was great! The restaurant kept my guests happy each breakfast. The cookies were just incredible!

I loved the Doubletree Brownstone.
Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Dr. And Mrs. John L.

Room Tip: We loved the 7th and 8 floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was there on business, the banquet/facility staff were very responsive and service-oriented, and the food was well-prepared and plentiful. My room was very nice, comfortable and well appointed. Room service breakfast was delivered quickly and on time, though the coffee had very little coffee taste (I love it dark and strong), and the Irish oatmeal was more watery than it should have been. Overall, however, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The rooms and amenities were great. Everything was clean, the rooms were comfortable, and it was easy enough to find with our GPS. My wife was feeling a bit ill the second day we were there and I appreciated when I went down to the bar that I was able to order some food for her and bring it up without any problems.

The staff was very friendly, and they made check-in and check-out a breeze. Would definitely stay here again on another trip to Raleigh, and I would definitely recommend them to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

we found the layout of the hotel to be very easy to follow. finding our way to the elevator and resturaunt was a cinch. the rooms were easily located. the way the hotel is laid out, a blind person could find his/her way to the room. the use ov braille under the printed numbers made that possible. we found the staff very friendly and pleasant to work with. Derek Allen and natasha Murray were excellent. they helped us with our reservations and banquet planning. they kept in touch with us; keeping us updated with information. upon our arrival, we were greeted by at least one of them. the Front Desk staff were very friendly; greeting us and offering us the delicious warm cookies. that is a wonderful approach. the rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable. Dorene was assigned to help us in the Hospitality Room and during our Banquet.

Room Tip: visit the website and view the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#28 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing