We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Statesville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough...”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone is in a great location, within walking distance of the NC State campus and the happenings of Hillsborough Street. When approaching the hotel, one might be turned off by the rather dated exterior; but once inside the property, it is easy to see that Hilton has spent a lot of money on the updating of the hotel. The lobby is spectacular and spacious, great for receiving large groups and reception. All rooms have a balcony, which was a nice touch to my top floor king suite. The guest rooms have received adequate updating, with flat screen tvs as well as central air conditioning which made the room very comfortable. The bedding and furniture was up to par with that of other Doubletree properties and made for an excellent night's sleep. The top floor balcony offered a great view of the Raleigh skyline. My only disappointment with the room was the space and age of the bathroom. It is easy to see that the bathroom was the only part of the room that was left untouched by the renovation--it is rather small for a Doubletree property; however, the terry cloth robes in the closet were a great added touch. Overall, a definite return trip for any visit to the NC State area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Chad1787,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We have enjoyed showing off our newly renovated hotel. I am glad that you were able to enjoy it during your recent stay. I hope that you will stay with us next time you come back into the Raleigh area.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    301
    185
    89
    36
See reviews for
298
126
30
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a nicely updated property, with a comfortable lobby that allows plenty of space for guests to spread out. Rooms were well appointed, with good A/C and clean bathroom. Good WiFi coverage, as well. You cannot beat the location, just steps to all NC State happenings.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Travlinsalesman,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased with our renovations and have enjoyed showing off our brand new interior. You are correct our location is right in the middle of everything happening at NC State. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in the Raleigh area.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a reunion in Raleigh. We were able to get a lower room rate because of the reunion, which was nice. Check in was easy and like other Doubletree hotels where I have stayed before, they did indeed give us warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival.

Our room was clean and attractive, with 2 very comfortable queen beds. The linens and towels were of good quality and there were 4 nice pillows on each queen bed. There was a bureau of sorts with a large flat screen TV on top and some drawers (behind a door?!) underneath. The coffee maker was located underneath as well. There was also a desk with a comfortable rolling task chair and a work lamp. (We were given a wifi password along with our key cards, and the wifi worked fine.) There was also a small but comfortable upholstered chair near the sliding glass door to the balcony. Though the balcony was fairly large, there were no chairs on it, and the view was primarily of the hotel parking lot, though the top of a few NC State campus buildings were visible.

Our room's bathroom was small but clean. It included a tub with shower, and some nice toiletries on top of the small table where the towels were stored. There was very little counter space, but there was a 3 way mirror over the sink. The shower's water pressure was pretty decent, though the flow from the sink's faucet was unimpressive. The closet contained several wooden hangers and a luggage rack. The room was fine for our needs.

The hotel has 2 elevators. They run smoothly, but are both small, and hold very few people when anyone has luggage. There was an ice machine and soft drink machine ($1 for a canned drink) on our floor near the elevator.

The hotel doesn't seem to have a full service restaurant, but does serve breakfast from a room on the lobby level from which you can choose cold/continental breakfast items for $6.99 or the full buffet including hot items such as scrambled eggs and bacon for $10.99. We chose instead to order off the menu for breakfast, and had freshly made breakfast combos including eggs, bacon and pancakes for slightly less than the buffet price, though it took a few minutes longer. It was worth it to us to have freshly made food and not pay $1 extra for "all you can eat".

We also used the room service menu for dinner one evening. I ordered a small sirloin with mashed potatoes, which tasted fine but the menu said it would come with the vegetable of the day and instead it came with bread but no vegetable. The service charge for room service was $3.00 plus a 20% gratuity added on, but the menu prices were reasonable ($10 for the small sirloin.)

The only real inconvenience we experienced at this hotel was that a large party of guests was there for a wedding, and that upped the noise level and the wait for an elevator on a regular basis. Also, a large section of the parking lot and 2 of the parking lot entrances were blocked for half the day on Saturday, though we did finally manage to find a passable entrance and locate a parking spot. Also, the noise level of the festivities was particularly high for a couple of hours on Saturday afternoon at a time when my sister had hoped to rest, but after being unable to nap, she chose to watch the ritual taking place in the parking lot and found it interesting.

All in all, we had a nice stay in a clean, comfortable room well located for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarHeelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear TarHeelLady,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay during your reunion and found that the hotel met your needs. I hope that you will visit us again next time you are in Raleigh.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was dark and had a damp musty smell to the corridor I entered and left from, however the room was really nice and the staff was great. I will probably stay again if I need a room in that part of town. I would have to say that they need to add some lighting and ventilation to the hallways though. Overall it was a good experience and the hotel is convenient and the bar was nice.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Derikk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear DerikkT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are excited to show off our newly renovated hotel. I am glad that you found the room and staff great. We appreciate your suggestion of more lighting. I hope that you will consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to Raleigh.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

You can renovate the interior with new finishings but the overall design and construction still shows thru. Most notably in acoustics, the students from NC State throwing a party in the room below me might as well invited me to their party considering how much of their conversations I was subjected to. For the price however a reasoable value with good beds and a convenient location to campus and downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiananimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Indiananimal,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We realize that many people make their travel decisions based upon other travelers reviews. I am sorry that the hotel was nosier than it should have been. I hope that you will consider using us again in the future if your travel should bring you back to Raleigh.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we didn't have as much time as we normally do to prepare for an event, it was a godsend when the Doubletree had enough rooms and enough event space for us to hold our conference. We were even more blessed, however, in the days and hours leading up to our event. The entire hotel staff (really everyone--the people at the front desk, the banquet staff, the sales manager, the catering manager, banquet captains, housekeeping, the AV company, the rooms manager, janitorial staff, etc.) was more professional and dedicated than any other hotel I've worked with. There was a pre-event meeting with all the staff involved to go over every detail (no matter how small- their attention to detail was impeccable) and make sure all our ducks were in a row. From greeting guests with a smile and asking if they needed anything to being there at a moment's notice and making last-minute changes to accommodate the number of attendees--the folks at this Doubletree really were on their A-game. The event we had was one of several regional conferences we are having this year, and I hope any other hotels we work with are up to the challenge, because this hotel set the bar HIGH. The recent renovations gave the hotel a modern, chic feel--perfect for any type of business meeting or conference, but also comfortable for just someone dropping in for the weekend. The location is ideal, just a block or so away from NC State and convenient to downtown Raleigh; there's plenty of parking, and lots of restaurants and shops just a few minutes away. But despite it's location, convenience, and affordability--the best thing about this hotel, by far, are the people that work there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Katie T,
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed working with you and your group. Providing great customer service is what keeps groups like yours coming back year after year. We hope that we can work with you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have stayed in hotels from New York City to Las Vegas, and I can honestly say this Doubletree by Hilton in Raleigh is one of the nicest hotels I have every stayed in. It was very clean, and the staff are all true professionals. I ordered room service for dinner, and it was amazing also. Mr. Brian Brooks is the Director of Sales, and he is simply the best to work with on all aspects of the hotel stay. I have never written a review, but I felt compelled to tell everyone how classy of an establishement this Doubletree by Hilton in Raleigh is. I will never stay anywhere else during my time in Raleigh NC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Tony P,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I was pleased to see that you would not want to stay anywhere else in the Raleigh area and hope that you will continue to use the hotel for your travel into this area.
Sincerely,
Heather Suitt
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#21 of 86 in Raleigh
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 86 in Raleigh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing