We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but some minor disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but some minor disappointments”
Reviewed May 30, 2006

This place is a notch above hotels such as Days Inn, Ramada, and the like. It's comparable to a Fairfield by Marriott, aimed at business travelers or families wanting something a little better than average but considerably less expensive than true business class or luxury hotels. This location featured clean, decent sized rooms. The wireless and wired free internet was convenient. Small fridge and microwave also came in handy. My only issues with this hotel were: the mattress seemed a bit cheap and floppy; the pillows were also thin and insufficient to prop up and watch TV. Also, while they have an outdoor pool and indoor whirlpool, the whirlpool heater was broken during my entire stay. I heard several guests grumbling about this, so I was not the only one who was annoyed about this. There were some other minor problems, such as the rear entrances not working, so if you went out to the pool, you couldn't get back in and had to walk all the way around the hotel. The safe in the room didn't work and the front desk person admitted not knowing what to do about it. All in all, with some work this could be a very good hotel. If you just need a place to stay for a couple of nice, it's more than adequate. It's convenient to everything. If you want more of a luxury experience, go elsewhere, though.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    256
    160
    72
    49
See reviews for
244
125
65
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2006

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Raleigh to check out the area (and surrounding cities) to see if this is a place we'd like to live if my husband got a job transfer to the Research Triangle Park.

We stayed at the Wingate Inn for three nights. The weekend was very quiet, but come Monday afternoon, a lot of business travelers had checked into this hotel. This is a great place for business as well as family travelers, and not a peep was heard from anyone even on their busy night.

This is in a very good location to a lot of restaurants, grocery stores, a shopping mall that was recently built, and while not very close to downtown Raleigh, it is only a few miles away. Also, it is close to 440 (and for any New Englanders who love Dunkin Donuts coffee like we do, there is a DD very close by).

Continental breakfast was the same every day -- hot and cold cereals, mini-muffins, English muffins, bagels, pre-made french toast, mini cinnamon rolls, and danish. Coffe and juice were available also, and I was told that the coffee machine operates all night and all day. It was free, so I can't complain.

The only reason I gave this 4 out of 5 'stars' is because the refrigerator was more of an icebox. We had gone to a Kroger's to pick up some deli meats and cheese for ourselves, put it in the fridge, and the next morning, they were frozen solid.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, the staff, and the location. We would definitely stay there again should our travel plans take us to Raliegh.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
147 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2006

Convenient location off 440, outside the city but easy access to downtown. Near good selection of food. Bfast was good. Free internet access. Clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet room. I would not want a room at the end of the halls (stair well doors) or in the middle of 2nd floor overlooking atrium (noisy). Microwave/fridge in room. $76 a night was a good deal. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 11, 2005

I stayed at the Wingate Inn-Raleigh for 2 nights. The first night they had happy hour with free ribs, chicken, and shrimp from TGIFriday's as well as free beer and alcohol. My room was very clean and the service was excellent. And free high speed internet is a big plus. I plan on staying there the next time I go to Raleigh.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Nice, clean hotel located out of town, but a straight shot into downtown Raleigh. Also convenient to the very lovely Wake Forest area. The room was fairly large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was perhaps not quite as good as those at other chains, but it was still quite welcome and OK. All in all, a good deal for a nice place.

Helpful?
4 Thank richnindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2004

I travel frequently on business and Wingate Inns is one of my favorites because of the excellent business facilities, free in-room high speed internet, pool and whirlpool and breakfast. I stayed at this particular Wingate in July 2004. It had the most friendly, helpful staff of any I have stayed at. Obviously this particular Wingate has excellent management. They are remodelling soon and it does not even need it. That shows to me that they are willing to re-invest in their facilities before they get overly used. A couple of the exercise machines were broken but this pales in comparison to the excellent facilities and top-notch service. I recommend Carver's Restaurant nearby. The food is outstanding. I was very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it for business travelers and families both.

Helpful?
6 Thank GraceLeeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2004

Good Clean Business Travel Hotel.

Friendly Staff plus all the rooms have free internet access

Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Raleigh North-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
#26 of 86 in Raleigh
284 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#44 of 86 in Raleigh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
5.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
6.2 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#19 of 86 in Raleigh
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North
Address: 2610 Westinghouse Blvd, Capitol Blvd/Westinghouse Blvd, Raleigh, NC 27604-2471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Raleigh Hotel Raleigh
Wingate Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing