We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night (sat-sun) so that we wouldn't have to drive back home in the dark. The hotel was in a good location. It is located near all the major places of interest in the city and there is a nice restaurant called Bahama Breeze located in walking distance in front of the hotel. The atmosphere was nice. Very modern lobby and helpful staff. Wished we would have booked online because it would've saved us about $25. There is a business center, kitchen, fitness room, and pool. There are also 42" HD TV's located in every room which was very nice although they have satellite service which was sluggish and had a lag when selecting channels. The free Wi-Fi was convenient. Free breakfast is served each morning but don't expect anything too great. There was fruit, yogurt, and some toast. Nothing worth eating in my opinion. Only one bar of soap was provided. The brand name was Portico and it was not very good smelling soap. Also there weren't enough wash cloths provided. Overall, great value for the money. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Davis81387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 598 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

Booked a stay for two rooms, one night at the Hyatt Place Raleigh - North. Hotel is easy to find right off the highway and is surrounded by many restaurants. It was an easy drive into Raleigh to see town and campus, we also drove to Chapel Hill to see UNC and get dinner. The rooms were modern and clean, spacious, with a flat screen TV, large bed, as well as pull out couch bed. During continental breakfast we spoke with some staff members who gave us great tips on things to do in the region. Would stay there again and highly recommend to others. Perfect hotel for parents visiting students at nearby universities.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tunabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a fantastic hotel! Very reasonable rates and a clean comfortable room- excellent value. Our stay began with a quick self check-in in the lobby. We found our room to be spacious and immaculate. There is a sitting area separate from the bedroom area. The 42 inch TV swivels so you can see it from anywhere in the room. The beds were comfortable and made up with higher quality linens than most hotel rooms. They offer wireless internet access throughout the hotel, and there is a Starbucks and "guest kitchen" off the lobby where you can order drinks and snacks 24 hours/day using a touch screen computer. The location was convenient as well, the hotel is just across the street from Duke-Raleigh Medical Center. We had never stayed in a Hyatt Place and were pleased with our first experience. We will definitely look to use this brand in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ctgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The exterior of the Hyatt Place North Raleigh is attractive. The lobby and surrounding rooms have a most modern feel but lacking in warmth. Self-check in at a kiosk conveniently located just inside the front entry way. The hotel room was spacious and comfortable with a living room set-up complete with a sofa and 42" HD tv. The bathroom sink area had granite counter-tops.Good so far until you are in the bathroom area. The door opens leaving about 1/2" of space between the door and toilet. The shower is one piece fiberglass, clearly although clean was stained from years of use. The shower needed to be cleaned and then grouted. Actually better yet, the bathroom needs to be remodeled to fit the rest of the room and the hotel. Clearly outdated and badly in need of renovation. Toiletries were not replaced. It was as if they splurged on the TV and blew the rest of the budget. The free continental breakfast is mediocre. Breakfast choices include toast, english muffins and bagels. If you want a danish or a muffin, it is an additional $2.75! It is an OK place to stay for a night or two but more than that, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tennis0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stoped here for an ovenight rest on our drive back to Baltimore from Atlanta. We had a room with a King bed and a pull out sofa. The hotel as a Starbucks cafe feel from the moment you enter. They do have a starbucks cafe downstairs that offers drinks and snacks 24 hours a day I think. We got a package deal that had the room, pizza , and breadkast for $99. The hotel room had a contemporary feel and did not have the cleanest feel to it. The carpet and eveything felt sticky. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large. It is a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank echima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt on a recent trip to Raleigh for the Jimmy Buffett concert. The hotel was booked full for the night and even though we heard the front desk telling others there would be no early check-ins, we decided to give the touch-screen kiosk a try anyway and what do you know....the kiosk gave us our keys!

This was our first time at a Hyatt Place hotel and we were very impressed with the layout of the "suite," as well as the style of the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and in my opinion the furnishings, amenities and features appeared to be of higher quality than what is found in most hotels.

After such a great experience, we will definitely book another stay at a Hyatt Place hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhanaOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

My husband and I booked two rooms at Hyatt Place on April 12, 2008. We were staying overnight only to spend the following day at the NC Renaissance Faire.

We were looking for a reasonable rate, as well as something a bit more "suite like" since one room was for our sixteen-year-old daughter and two of her friends.

The hotel has a subtle, Asian-contemporary feel. We found the rooms almost perfect for our needs. The hotel was exactly as described at the Hyatt Web site. The rooms were clean and well-appointed for their purpose, and we found the sitting area to be fairly spacious with a very large L-shaped couch, large ottoman, large desk with phone and Internet-access points, and a separate area that could serve as a wet bar--mini fridge, water tap, and counter top with coffee maker, coffee, and nice sturdy cups. There was even a comforter (or "throw") folded on the shelf of the end table for one to use while lounging on the couch. The sleeping area was no smaller than most of the places we have stayed, and the separate bath accommodatted the toilet and bath/shower. Everything we hope to be in a hotel room was there: hair dyer, ironing board, iron, and the previously mentioned coffee maker. The 42" Plasma TV was also very nice, especially for the teenagers. The placement of the TV was a little odd. It kind of straddled the no-man's land between the sleeping and sitting areas, but it could be turned a bit in the direction of one area or the other. A very nice feature of the TV was the easy access of ports through which one could hook up a DVD player, computer, video camera, etc.

The hotel has a small deli-bar area downstairs just around the counter (literally) from the check-in. We found that nice for people traveling with others of varying ages. One could enjoy a cup of Starbucks coffee, a glass of wine or a beer, a sandwich, salad, or dessert all in the same general area with plenty of room to spread out at a variety of tables and chairs stationed throughout the area, lobby, and morning breakfast area. Free Internet access and a compter was also available in an alcove. For a family traveling with teens this set-up was nice.

The fitness center was small, but the equipment was first rate by my amateur standards. I used the fitness center as I do all of them merely to get in a three-mile walk. The treadmill I used featured a built-in TV set, and there were plenty of earphone headsets prepackaged in cellophane for guests to use if they didn't bring their own.

The breakfast area is larger than most though the fare is very much a continental breakfast, which is exactly as it is described. My husband has grown used to "continental" not really meaning continental, so he was a bit bummed. The rest of us were satisfied, especially since there was plenty of healthy fare.

Our only disappointment was the outdoor pool was closed as their pool season had not begun. I'll remember to inquire about that in the future, and it is the only reason I would not choose to stay here again over another Raleigh hotel for a stay of the same length--if I were traveling with teenagers.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
7.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
0.1 mi away
Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport-Brier Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown

Address: 1105 Navaho Dr, Raleigh, NC 27609-7312
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#23 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#29 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Raleigh North is the ideal hotel in the ideal location. we are located in trendy midtown and nestled just three miles outside of downtown Raleigh, only 15 minutes from the airport, and just a short drive to Research Triangle Park. During your stay, you can enjoy specialty Starbucks® coffee drinks and friendly conversation at the intimate Bakery Cafe'. A Host will happily assist you with orders from the 24-hour Guest Kitchen, which offers café-quality, made-to-order meals and snacks along with a complimentary hot breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Raleigh - North Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing