We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Furain Guest House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
68
20
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsa wonderful staymain roadone nighteasy accessroom was spotlesscomfortable staycooked breakfastgood sizealisonteessidetarnaccommodationwedding
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 91 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Furain guest house is a lovely bed and breakfast. The rooms are lovely particularly the rooms upstairs. There is a wide range of items you can have for a hot breakfast and cold. It is run by a really nice and accomodating old couple.
It also has a really nice sitting room for reading or working.

I would recommend it.

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs are the best.. they are much larger
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalwilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have been staying here since 2005 and on every visit we receive a very warm welcome. The rooms are beautifully warm and comfortable, such a delight when arriving on a cold snowy night.
The breakfast menu is extensive, infact it has every conceivable thing you can think of, but if you've not tried the Smoked Haddock Gratins - you must - they are to die for! We love staying here and we vote it the best B&B in the whole of Scotland!
One of the nicest things is that they allow visitors to use their very comfortable lounge to relax and read the papers and browse and borrow the many interesting books on their bookshelves, it's just amazing.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor rooms as they are beautifully quiet
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oggiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My mother and I stay at this welcoming guest house when we come North to visit my uncle. It is always warm and immaculately clean. The breakfast is a particular highlight. Recent improvements include resurfacing of parking area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear extension are built for the B&b business and well equipped.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The first time I have ever stayed in Peterculter and the Furain Guest House. I hope it is not my last!! The Furain is a gorgeous guest house set in the middle of the town just off the main road. The house is spotless clean and the rooms are beautiful. Jim and his wife are the friendliest of people who look after you and make you feel most welcome. Breakfast was fantastic and spoiled for choice ranging from the normal cooked breakfast to beautiful fish dishes such as smoked haddock and kippers. Our only disappointment was that we were only there one night which was simply not long enough. I can also recommend Peterculter Golf Club for a friendly game on a lovely course, which is only 5 minutes walk fom the Furain. Thanks again and will hopefully be back in the future. Alan Tait

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have visited Furain on several occasions, the latest being on a 3 night stay as we were looking after our 2 year old grandson. As always the welcome was warm, the room comfortable and the breakfast superb. We brought Oliver along from his parents' house every morning and he had his own table setting; he shared our breakfast - particularly the Scottish salmon - which he loved, and the Reids brought out boxes of their childrens' toy cars and wooden trains for him to play with, from the cellar. The day after we left he asked his mum "go to Mrs Reids breakfast?"
Says it all really. Should be able to give 6 stars

Room Tip: Main rooms to front are very large, but slightly noisy as on the main road through Culter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews