We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great august bank holiday break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castlepollard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlepollard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Despite the floods (all over the country) had a lovely relaxing time. Food even better than before and fabulous buffet one morning. Very good value for money and lovely relaxing quiet bedroom. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Two night stay - brilliant. Staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Upgraded by owner, Russell, to suite to minimise noise from music function. Still a few shelves, hooks and mirrors to fit here as room overhaul not quite finished but caused no problem to us. We had two meals from bar menu. First class food at reasonable cost on both occasions.
Breakfasts too had good selection of well cooked food.
A real buzz in bar area with great band on Saturday night.
Will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here with the family for just one night, was not expecting much as it is a small hotel in a small village. I was pleasantly surprised. The rate was decent, the Family Room(room 1) is quite big and well laid out, it is ensuite. It looks like it was renovated recently. Tastefully furnished with real furniture, not your run of the mill hotel room. We arrived late, about 9pm and ordered food(the cut-off time for food is 8.45pm) But Russell organised it for us and brought it to the room as the kids were getting tired. They have great burgers here! We also had the chicken wings, which were cooked just right. The beds were comfy, the shower took a while to warm up, but it is one of the best showers I have had, great pressure, lots of water. Breakfast next day was in the bar and was quite good, it was from a menu, I don't think there is a buffet. The choices were good, we had the full Irish and also pancakes for the kids. We went for a stroll around the village and checked out. Castlepollard is tiny, has a beautiful central grassy square. There was a small market on. A beautiful quaint village. Would recommend Hotel Castlepollard if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Easter me and hubby. Must say food was delicious, bedroom was lovely and quiet and staff very friendly. A lovely tranquil hotel in a lovely tranquil town. Also beautiful lakes and scenery in surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Castlepollard Hotel several times and find it gets even better every time.
As I am in business in the area and staying on my own it is great to eat in the bar downstairs, one because the food is excellent and two because the atmosphere is very welcoming and if not chatting to Russell then to other locals at the bar while having a drink.
The wifi is also good and if you stay in one of the rooms close to the lobby area then you can get enough signal to surf the web or have a Skype call.
The TV reception is much improved from my first stay and now has lots of freeview channels and a large screen.
The double beds are very large and comfortable with fluffy duvets and soft pillows. Although I did find the single bed I stayed in the first time not as comfortable.
The cooked breakfast is first class and really one of the best I've ever tasted with good quality coffee served with it and rounds of toast on the side. Not the best for the waist line but sets you up for the day ahead!
Overall it is outstanding value and I will be staying again whenever i am in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Johnnygid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas as was visiting family close by and this was only hotel open in area. The Manager (Russell) was fantastically helpful and friendly. The place was being renovated, so rooms weren't all finished but still good enough for the say. Food was good and breakfast in the bar was "wholesome". Christmas dinner was a great event for the 80 or so people, kids well looked after, the hotel has a large function room suitable for weddings etc. The music in the bar at night was fine and the craic was good! This hotel is in the town square so parking is right outside the door. Good family hotel and well placed for visiting the local sights whether by car or walking. Was surprised to see visitors from all over UK in the hotel for Christmas but reflects on its popularity

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking square will be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Food was ok, service poor not pleaseant staff. Found the "manager" "owner" unhelpful "not a business man" Rather loud in bar with television. Not suitable for a Sunday family get together. Worst hotel I was in a long time. On entering the hotel it put me off straight away. Will never make a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlepollard
10.2 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
10.8 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
654 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
5.2 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
10 reviews
21.1 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castlepollard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castlepollard

Address: The Square, Castlepollard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Castlepollard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlepollard
Price Range: $96 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castlepollard 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castlepollard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing