We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did someone consider this not terrible? Was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I wrote a review before but I guess someone deleted it. Long story short. Worst hotel ever and I've seen a pimp use his strong hand at an Econo Lodge in 98 in Jacksonville FL ask my brother.

Rooms smelled HORRIBLE. Mine wasn't as bad as my coworker;s. I'm not sure how he could sleep without a clothespin on his nose, I stayed in his room for 30 mins drinking a couple brews and I wanted to puke the hole time. Oh and My coworker also got flea bites.

They have a pool, but there was stuff floating in it. Not sure what.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JA2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popinn, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

On behalf of new managment, after reading your review, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at this property last year. Since we got involved in the property in 2012, we have implemented many upgrades and continue to renovate, as you can see from the positive feed back this year. We have endeavered to review all comments and suggestions, and take whatever steps necessary to correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you love history, DO NOT just pass through the tiny town of Plymouth NC and thereby miss excellent stories of the Civil War as told by Harry Thompson at the Museum. And when in Plymouth, consider staying at the Port O'Plymouth Inn. It's not fancy but it is clean and reasonably priced. I first stayed here 30 years ago and still find it convenient to the remarkable town of Plymouth (which can't be appreciated unless you get out of the car and talk to the people.) TV good sized, beds are comfortable though not the newest; the staff friendly. And if you go much further toward the coast, Ouch!!! - You'll pay for it - at least during summer resort time. There is a "club" or former lounge in the back but it appears vacant. The front desk has a high barrier which is awkward and the breakfast is miserable. A Mexican restaurant is a few feet away and does offer moderately good food at a good price and Margaritas. Though near highway I did not hear road traffic. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daffodilsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I was in town on business. This hotel was bad. The room was not clean. They have no hot breakfast. I did not feel safe .

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roserose9365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popinn, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

On behalf of new managment, after reading your review, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at this property last year. Since we got involved in the property in 2012, we have implemented many upgrades and continue to renovate, as you can see from the positive feed back this year. We have endeavered to review all comments and suggestions, and take whatever steps necessary to correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I was surprised at the clean, spacious and the recently renovated rooms. My rooms had a fridge and microwave, high speed wireless internet and hair dryers, iron and ironing boards were available at my request. Thanks to the pet friendly rooms we were able to bring the family dog with us. The beds were very comfortable, I as well as everyone in my family had a great night sleep. The front desk staff was very friendly,welcoming and extremely helpful. They did everything they could to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one. Housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful as well, they kept our room clean and equiped with everything that we needed. I could not have asked for a better stay and would recommend port o plymouth to anyone traveling through plymouth. We will stay with them anytime we are traveling the area. THANKS TO EVERYONE AT PORT O PLYMOUTH INN!!!!! WE WILL SEE YOU ALL AGAIN SOON!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisespruill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

First let me start by saying, this is not a "name brand" hotel, but I must say, our stay was well worth it! Surprisingly, the rate we paid was low, even though you would have expected to pay more just from the look of the Inn!! The Port O Plymouth offers a nice breakfast selection and beds with sleep quality comparable to any Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is up-to-date and offers an atmosphere that is very inviting for couples, families, and well as someone traveling for business. The hotel manager and staff were very personable and friendly, a plus in my opinion! I would definitely recommend you give this hotel a try if ever you are in the area! [--]

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Mystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I were on our way to the beach when he decided to stay in Plymouth. The people their are will friendly but, it was the smell and the bugs that got me. I enjoy the town and the sites but having to sleep with the bugs was nasty. Their were people outside our door cursing I was afraid. Never Nerver again I told all my family and his.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PlymouthWhitegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popinn, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

On behalf of new managment, after reading your review, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at this property last year. Since we got involved in the property in 2012, we have implemented many upgrades and continue to renovate, as you can see from the positive feed back this year. We have endeavered to review all comments and suggestions, and take whatever steps necessary to correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The only two good things I can say about this place - the linens were clean and the price was right. Otherwise pretty horrible. Shoddy repairs, cigarette burns in the bedspreads, shredded curtains, no basic toiletries, thin walls. The piece de resistance - checking under the beds before we left only to find a rolled up playing card probably used for snorting drugs. EE-WW. The owner of the establishment should be ashamed. And should learn the magic of decent paint job and good lighting.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popinn, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

On behalf of new managment, after reading your review, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at this property last year. Since we got involved in the property in 2012, we have implemented many upgrades and continue to renovate, as you can see from the positive feed back this year. We have endeavered to review all comments and suggestions, and take whatever steps necessary to correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 3 in Plymouth
84 reviews
18.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#2 of 6 in Williamston
42 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#4 of 8 in Edenton
162 reviews
14.4 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 510 Highway 64 East, Plymouth, NC 27962 (Formerly Port-O Plymouth Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Plymouth Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing