We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$68
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnuson Hotel(Williamston)
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge North(Washington)
$77
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn(Washington)
$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
31
36
11
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
36
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksmall townthe outer banksconvenient locationcentral pointnice surprisebit surprisedmicrowaves and refrigeratorsthe hotel is cleanwould definitely stay here againnorth carolinalate nightstaff was very friendlycomfortable bedsovernight stopnight stayin town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 84 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

On our trip, we had a bad experience with another Holiday Inn Express. This location totally validated the brand. Not one staff member the entire time we were there passed us without saying hello and with a smile no less! The hotel is extremely clean. While we were checking out, we noticed several people working all over the lobby and hotel common area to make sure everything was picture perfect spotless!

The rooms facing the back of the hotel have large, private balconies, although they only look at the parking lot. The hotel was the quietest that I can ever remember. Although the parking lot was full and we saw other people, not once did we hear a door slam. The elevator was so quiet we didn't even know that it was moving. Top it off with a comfortable room and comfortable bed and you get very satisfied guests!

Breakfast was great. A full breakfast was well stocked and attended to, by of course, a courteous hostess with a smile!

We were interested in touring the local area and asked the desk clerk on the way out for some information. The owner came out of her office to offer us personalized help and took her time with us explaining and answering all sorts of questions that I had. She even printed out a couple of maps for us.

Tip: If you have somewhere to be, avoid the couch in the lobby in front of the big screen tv. It's so comfy, one could fall asleep in a matter of minutes. It feels like you're own living room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NorJon713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thanks for posting this review and even more for choosing our hotel. We are so pleased to read all the great comments. This means alot to all of us. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Holiday Inn Express Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had to evacuate the Outer Banks for Hurricane Arthur on Thursday, July 3rd and just happened to stop buy this motel on the way to Rocky Mount were I already had a hotel reservation. Just our luck that they just had a cancellation and we were able to get a King Suite that was pet friendly for 2 nights! They suggested we go ahead and reserve for an additional night, not knowing when we could get back on Hatteras Island. The GM and staff were very polite and accommodating as there were a lot of people evacuating and trying to find a place to stay like us who had another week in a rental house to get back to. They even helped me cancel my reservation in Rocky Mount and were trying to work with others in locating an hotel room as they were full. The town of Plymouth is an Historical town on the Roanoke River which runs through downtown, a must see. Nice park on the river, an ironclad replica and Civil War heritage. Check out the old Episcopal Church and specifically the old tombstones. Hotel was clean and accommodating, breakfast was good and staff did a great job with a family reunion going on there at the same time evacuees were staying there as well. My hats off to the staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank powellgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We are so glad we could accommodate you during the Hurricane Arthur evacuation. As you know, we are the first stop from the beach and we fill up quickly. We sympathize with the tourist that have been displaced due to the hurricane, We do everything we can to find hotel rooms for the evacuees when we fill up, as this is our responsibility as North Carolinians to take care of people visiting our state .
We are glad you enjoyed our small town of Plymouth.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

As nice and clean as I have stayed at any Holiday Inn Express.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Plymouth NC is a small place so it was a delightful surprise to find this gem. Rooms were freshly painted and carpet was very clean. The breakfast area was spotless.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Zzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Hi Zzba and thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us during your visit to Plymouth, NC. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great hotel. Very friendly staff and very clean rooms. The rooms are spacious and even have couches that fold out to beds. The only downside to this hotel was the poor internet connection. The speed is about equivelant to dial-up speeds.

Thank Caleb A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear caleb a,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am delighted to know that our hotel, rooms and staff are highly commendable.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the internet connection. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you very much and we hope you have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed at this motel numerous times and have always been very satisfied with my stay. The rooms are clean and the recreational facilities are great. We love the pool. The included hot breakfast is delicious. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable. Rates are within acceptable limits. I highly recommend this motel to anyone needing a quiet , comfortable, clean room for a night or a week.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy and quiet. Best Value.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A.j. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

The staff of the Holiday Inn Express is so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take pride in offering our guest the best stay possible. Thank you very taking time to write a review!We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews