We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was leary at first because of some of the reviews I saw but the lady at bojangles which happens to be right in front of the hotel said they were under new management. So we stayed and I have to say I am glad we did. One of the best hotel experiences we have had. The front desk clerk Vicky was awesome. I was there with my 2 teenage daughters on the way home from the outer banks and she was very helpful. Our room was clean and for once I didnt have to ask for extra pillows as there were 4 on each bed. Nor did I have to go down for extra towels. Glad we stayed and will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kely1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your gracious remarks. We take pride in being the best place in town. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was a great motel for a great rate. The staff was very helpful. The room we were given smelled of smoke and when we went back to the desk we were immediately given a different room. The rooms were large, clean, and bright. The bed was very comfortable. The next morning we were surprised at the breakfast bar. It had much more than danish and coffee. The dining area for the breakfast was large and very clean.
Overall this was a good experience and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

After our disaster at the "inn" down the road, we went to this hotel. Much, much, much better. Very clean. The beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was very good for a complementary breakfast! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My Dad and I stayed at this hotel while visiting our family in the area. Andrea and Felicia, who worked the front desk, were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay. The room was alright, considering the alarm clock was not working, and the desk telephone was broken. I had a problem with my door lock when I first arrived and Diane, the manager came to check it out. I was so unimpressed with her that I didn't even bother turning in the other items that were not working; I preferred getting along without them to listening to another one of her spiels. “The straw that broke the camel’s back,” was on Wednesday with Amanda's handling of my checkout. I made reservations using one debit/credit card and paid at checkout with another. Amanda said my funds on the first card would be released from their "pending" status in about two hours after checkout. When I called her later that afternoon, she told me it may be overnight before the release would go through. The next day after it was not released I did some research and found that Amanda had not initiated the action needed from the hotel to release the funds. She clearly needs to be at a job where she's not involved with the handling of other people’s money. Felicia got things corrected the next day and I want to thank her for the positive attitude she demonstrated. Diane and Amanda have something in common; dealing with them made me feel as though I had been through the "House of Smoke and Mirrors" at the circus. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone until there is a positive management change.
Sincerely,
Steve Styons
Wendell, NC

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank sstyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is located on the way to Outer Banks. Location is good with Bojangles at walking distance.Front desk staff assisted me with the town details and best eating places.In a small town our stay was made very comfortable by customer friendly staff.Rooms were clean and breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more safe and secured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Wireless internet connection was sporadic - the worst I've experienced at a Holiday Inn Express.
The first floor has doors to the parking lot which compounds the noise. There was a lot of slamming doors from people going to the pool or to smoke.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are old - hooks in bathroom falling off. Fairly clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMWMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My wife and I stop in Plymouth at least twice a year. Generally on our way to the beach. The Holiday Inn Express is a perfect location when traveling to the Outer Banks. Its about 2 hours from the beach, so we stop for a rest, and continue our trip in the morning.The staff is very friendly.They always offer us a snack at check in. We enjoy sitting on the balcony they have overlooking the pool. We always bring our dog and this hotel is non smoking and pet friendly. The grounds of the hotel are great for walking the dog. There is even a pond on sight.
Great service,Great location, and a wonderful breakfast .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpicot1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
68 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
418 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#3 of 6 in Williamston
42 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 840 US Highway 64 W, Plymouth, NC 27962-8852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Plymouth Hotel is conveniently located within 1 mile of the Roanoke River on Hwy 64 West. We are able to accommodate many travelers who enjoy a variety of outdoor adventures! Historic Plymouth boasts many Nationally Recognized points of interest to Civil War enthusiasts. For those of you with an appetite for seafood, just a few miles drive can deliver you to a large variety of fresh shellfish and other delicacies. The outdoor ventures available in the area include boating, fishing, hunting, and also we have local bird watching trails available in the area. We have a variety of restaurants all within a mile that include Mexican, Italian, Seafood and Good Country Home Cookin. Bojangles is adjacent to our hotel. Nearby cities include Greenville & Elizabeth City. We are a pet friendly Hotel! Hotel features include free wireless internet, free local calls, Express Start complimentary hot food breakfast bar with many choices to choose from, such as cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, hot biscuits and of course our world famous best tasting cinnamon rolls. We have wireless internet set up for guests use in our office center as well as a fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. We decorate our public areas in celebration of all the Holidays throughout the year! Cookies and candy are always available to our guests to satisfy their sweet tooth. Visit Plymouth, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing