We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
Warren
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Traveling to Pittsboro, NC for a family funeral, we found the Rosemary House a lovely retreat from the sadness of the occasion. We took two rooms and found the furnishings and amenities lovely. The presentation at Breakfast was a gastronomic delight. Nothing was overlooked and a request for chocolate chip cookies was furnished within hours. I would highly recommend a stay at the Rosemary House if you are in the Pittsboro/Sanford area.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in had a lovely gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    15
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I live in Florida and wanted to do something unusual (for us) for a short getaway. We drove up to Pittsboro to visit an old friend of mine and stayed at this B&B that she recommended. It was unusually cold so we opted for the room upstairs with the fireplace. The room was sooo cozy! The bed was comfortable, the room spacious, and they furnish everything. The day and night managers were very accommodating. It was the best R&R vaca. The little town is friendly and there's restaurants close by. I would love to return in the spring or summer when the flowers are in bloom!

Room Tip: upstairs corner room with a fireplace for winter ambiance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I came to the Rosemary House B&B for a quiet get away. It was clean, comfortable and well run. I slept very peacefully and was well rested when I left. The breakfast was excellent! The Rosemary B&B was centrally located in Pittsboro. I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Haven" room. It's the best in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieshofner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for an early Valentines Day getaway.
What a lovely place! It just couldn't have been nicer.

Super comfortable bed, linens all divine. The modern bathroom was luxurious. Breakfasts were tasty and the afternoon tea was really something special for us. Owners thought of everything to make it comfortable and pretty. The house is furnished with antiques, all quaint and beautiful. Professionally trained staff who seem to enjoy their jobs. All vegetarian. I give Rosemary House an A+

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenSantaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are always happy to stay at Rosemary House. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated and the food is delicious. Debbie the manager was very nice. We got to meet Laura the night manager who was delightful. It is our go-to place when we go to or through Pittsboro!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were set to take a class in Pittsboro for Valentine's day, but after the class was cancelled due to weather, we asked to cancel or reschedule our stay at Rosemary House. The owner, via the night innkeeper, told us that since the cancellation was within one week we would still be charged for the full amount but would be credited half of the cost toward another night. While I understand the policy, My wife and others that I have told about this agree that perhaps the management could be more understanding, but alas, a contract is a contract. I definitely would not give another dime to a business that would be so inflexible. That being said, we booked "Haven", supposedly the "nicest room in the house". It was quaint, decoration was nice. Murals were pretty. It was a shame that some of the updates of the house did not carry over much of the historical charm.

NOISE. We heard every word that was spoken by the night innkeeper whose apartment was next door. She spoke very loudly on the phone and some of the conversations seemed heated. Every footstep was heard in the room above as well as every creak with 'valentine's festivities', if you get my meaning. We own and live in an old house with an attic that has been converted to an apartment, so our expectations for silence in a turn of the century property are low. This noise in the "Haven" room was exuberant and anything but relaxing. The stairway directly behind the wall adjacent to the bed was very noisy, especially with someone running up and down it before 8am.

Bathroom was nice. Did not try the hot tub so cannot speak to that. Bed was very soft and springy.

Breakfast was vegetarian with faux sausage. Not astounding but adequate. Debbie was very nice. Cookies were good.

We have stayed at a multitude of B&Bs on three continents and for $192 (incl. tax) this was inadequate. I was definitely not rested nor relaxed after staying here. I will not stay here again and if and when we reschedule our class in the area we will be seeking another B&B. I do not agree with the wording "poor" but I also would not rate this property as average compared to other B&Bs we have experienced.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Haven. It is anything but. Very loud upstairs and the stairway directly behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemarybb, Owner at Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's always useful to receive specific suggestions for ways we can improve the guest experience. I didn't know the night manager's voice could be heard in the Haven room, so we will certainly be able to fix that. Everyone hates paying cancellation fees and I hate to charge them which is why I offered half back as a credit toward a future stay, but I will take another look at that policy. I appreciate knowing that you liked our cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Ok place for the price; not fancy buy clean and comfortable with good reading lights., town closed
Down on a Monday! I think it would exceptionally pretty summer and when local,shops are open. Sone very nice places to eat in town, most also closed Monday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsboro
14.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Siler City
14.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
1,217 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
16.6 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
14.7 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 76 West St, Pittsboro, NC 27312-9416
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic charming Pittsboro, Rosemary House is a 1912 Colonial Revival home with five guest bedrooms, each with private bath. Two rooms have two-person airjet tubs and fireplaces. Free wifi, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fans, bottomless cookie jar, and full breakfast are included. Sit down in a rocker on our enormous front porch, shaded by sugar maples, and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing