We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fearrington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice but,”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A country Inn within a settlement containing a few shops and one restaurant other than the one connected to the Inn. Surrounded by a small farm and contains wonderful gardens, meeting rooms, and other speciality buildings. The fee includes your room/suite as well as afternoon tea and breakfast. An excellent restaurant is also on the grounds and is available for an additional cost. A very special get-sway. The only complaint was our suite had a fairly small bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endodoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    30
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
153
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled for our 6th anniversary, and The Fearrington House was a great choice. Check-in felt a little stiff. i would have preferred more of a greeting or maybe a smile. Our room was decent sized but had a great view of one of their gardens and we actually witnessed a wedding on the lawn that afternoon. The bed was incredibly comfortable. the bathroom was nice; we had a standup shower. There are I think three different restaurants all under their head chef, Chef Bedford which is amazing for the amount of events and numbers they turn in all three places. He's great. The food that evening was unbelievable. Our server was very pleasant. We could read through her facade; it didn't feel as genuine, however one of their dining room managers (he had an accent) now he was great! His wit and humor helped keep things going smoothly between meals. The next morning we were a little under the weather having battled sinus infections for days before, so we weren't able to join for breakfast. We did still enjoy the fresh breads and room service was very prompt. They've recently been awarded the five star and currently working at another five star relais & chateaux I was not disappointed at all. I strongly encourage and recommend everyone to stay or dine if they're in the Pittsboro area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Fearrington House Inn while attending a wedding on the property. The inn was a delight, and I wish we would have had more time to spend! We arrived in the afternoon and enjoyed lunch at the Goat. This isn't a review of the Goat, but I will add that the food there was nothing special (compared to the great dining at the restaurant). Don't go with gourmet expectations and it'll be just fine. We then checked into our room, which even as one of the smaller rooms was plenty space! The bed was very comfortable and we appreciated the little touches of the heated towel bar, robes, bottles of water and treats. Loved the turn down service with slippers, port, and the AMAZING truffles. Unfortunately due to the wedding we didn't get to experience afternoon tea or dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast the next morning was out of this world. Gourmet menu options plus all you could eat/drink fresh-squeezed OJ, biscuits, croissants, and a taste of smoothie. The garden wasn't all that impressive (I'm guessing due to the time of year) but overall the grounds were gorgeous.

Hoping to come back for another night when we can experience all Fearrington has to offer! We both felt like the Inn would make for an amazing anniversary or birthday getaway.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are plenty big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fls114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Fearrington House Inn with our two collies, Sharpe and Pepper. The property is dog friendly. Actually, they were dog enthusiastic. They really went out of their way to welcome our untraditional family. They went to the trouble to find directions to the nearby dog park. We travel with travel crates for the dogs. We passed on the turn down services in order to not upset either the dogs with strangers in the room or upset the hard working service staff. But, turn down with a little drink at night is available.

The check in was warm and welcoming. Our room was not quite ready upon arrival, but we were there just a little bit early. We took the dogs for a much needed walk along their walking trails. By the time we returned, everything was ready. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The beds were fabulous. The bath was well appointed with wonderful towels and toiletries. We had occasion to dine in the main dining room and the second night we dined at The Granary. Both were outstanding in their own rights. All of the staff were very well trained and it showed. Breakfast was perfect, not too much, just enough. Tea was a treat. The Fearrington House Blend was excellent.

Our expectations were exceeded.

Room Tip: Certain Rooms are designated as "Pet Friendly" Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jocelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in the south
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed a midweek getaway here recently. The Ferrington is a gem to be sure. Entering through the main road you will see the pastures inhabited by their signature cattle, the belted Gallaways. The village is a well organized collection of period structures with beautiful grounds and landscaping. The ambiance takes you in even before the friendly, attentive staff engage you. We had asked for a quiet room with a view and were given room 5, a second floor corner room with expansive windows overlooking one of the gardens. Delightful. The amenities were as described with thoughtful embellishments including a decanter of port left for us during the turn-down service while we were out enjoying dinner. Any need or request was met with care and professionalism. A cooked to order breakfast is included at the main restaurant, gourmet quality with homemade pastries, jams, and a bonus shot of a fruit smoothie, The afternoon tea was relaxing and elegant with an excellent assortment of sweet and savory treats and several tea choices that were new to
me. They have certainly earned their Relais and Chateaux membership but without losing the feel of a friendly country inn.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms offer a better view and are naturally quieter hearing only the pitter patter of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at the Fearrington House Inn recently to celebrate a birthday. They upgraded us upon registration to a lovely suite. The grounds are very beautiful - lots of gardens, parks, pastures with their special "Beltie" cows. It's very quiet and private. The breakfast and afternoon tea are both complimentary, and we couldn't believe it. They were both incredibly fantastic and top shelf. Definitely a value add. They don't say this on the web site (I don't think so anyway) that there is an outdoor and indoor pool as well as extensive fitness center on site and available for use. We ate at the Granary twice, and it was really very good. Also check out Oakleaf in nearby Pittsboro - superb. There are lots of walking/jogging paths around the area. They have that at the front desk. A very nice getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - you can hear people walking around above you if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this bucolic, beautiful and beguiling Inn about 5 times. This little-known (perhaps outside of the area) village, hotel, restaurant, wonderful gift shop ( The Dovecote ) , fabulous Spa and a hidden gem of an old-fashioned book shop -- the kind that seduces someone who reads books on a Kindle or iPad into spending an hour browsing, reading and buying 4 "real" books, is a "must".
And did I mention that there are belted cows? They are grazing in the pasture and provide great photos.
The rooms, as befitting a Relais et Chateaux property, are unique. Each of the 32 guest rooms has a distinct design and character. Rooms feature antiques, luxurious fabrics, original Southern artwork, fresh flowers a and view extensive decorative gardens. (The gardens are a special treat.)
The AAA, 5 Diamond restaurant never disappoints. The only possible complaint is that the amount of food is somewhat overwhelming. The 3 course meal is more than enough food, but the Chef's tasting, the scrumptious bread, and the additional desserts, while delicious, are a real challenge to those of us with small stomachs.
Fearrington House Inn is a " must" for those who wish to escape to a quiet, top-notch Inn, Restaurant, and Spa.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FearringtonVillage, General Manager at The Fearrington House Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments. We love that you took advantage of the whole village and experienced everyhting that Fearrington has to offer!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Theresa Chiettini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsboro
18.5 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,326 reviews
15.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
17.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
299 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fearrington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fearrington House Inn

Property: The Fearrington House Inn
Address: 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr, 240 Market Street, Pittsboro, NC 27312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fearrington House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fearrington House Inn is a Relais & Chateaux property located just south of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Set amidst extensive gardens and rolling pastures, this 32 room inn features individually decorated rooms and suites as well as award-winning service. Guests also enjoy relaxing treatments at the Spa at Fearrington and browsing our stores including Dovecote and Haven, both home and gift shops, and McIntyre's Books, one of the South's most celebrated independent bookstores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fearrington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fearrington House Hotel Pittsboro
Fearrington House Pittsboro
Fearrington Inn Pittsboro Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing