We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fearrington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Amazing experience. Property was fantastic. From the rooms, to the service, to the gardens, and the village with the cows, we loved it all. We had dinner two nights at the Restaurant. The food was top notch. We were very impressed. We loved the breakfast and especially tea time. The lemon curd and clotted cream were delicious. We've been missing it since! We ate brunch at the granary the day we arrived. It was also very good. We enjoyed the trails on the property. We also enjoyed the pool which is shared with the neighborhood residents. It's a very large pool so there was plenty of room. We did not try the gym at the Duke Center but my in-laws did and they said it was very nice.

Property is very close to Chapel Hill. We went there for dinner the nights the Fearrington House was closed. We also made a trip to see the Duke Campus/Gardens. All within 30 min drive. Highly recommend this property for a relaxing get-away. Great rooms, great service, great value as well. We are very lucky to have a 5 diamond property like the Fearrington in NC!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    27
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
141
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the first night of our honeymoon in Room 1. (We held our wedding reception that night at the Granary Restaurant in Fearrington Village.) The front desk clerk was quite pleasant and provided us with an ice bucket for a bottle of champagne. The room is located off of a beautiful garden courtyard. Inside, it is spacious and very well appointed. Soft classical music was playing when we walked in the door. When we returned to the room at night, the room was turned down with Port and a charcuterie plate awaiting us. Breakfast the next morning in the Fearrington House Restaurant continued the theme of excellence. The Restaurant is only open to hotel guests for breakfast, so there's no need to worry about a rush of people. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CptVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I don't think I've ever rated a place this low, but for $650 a night, it didn't even deliver a Hilton experience. There was a nice guy at the check-in desk, and housekeeping was very pleasant..otherwise it was a one star experience.. in fact so bad that we barely made it through one day, checked out on the second and went home.

(The restaurant, however, is 5 star... so don't let this keep you from eating there!)

Where to start... well after checking in, they show us to a room which is above the suntrust bank in the village...and the whole village looks like a planned retirement community. The room was nice enough, except the air conditioner barely works. It is fantastic to spend $650 a night for a room which at 1am is still sweltering in the 83 degree range. Not even a fan to speak of. Spoke to management twice; clearly the AC is insufficient sized to cool the room but as with the rest of the inn (which is owned by the developer of the surrounding community), upgrades and upkeep seem to be second priority.

The grounds were horrifically maintained... flower beds full of weeds, the brick paths with weeds coming up through the bricks... I have no idea how this got a Relais and Chateaux listing. The staff (excepting the nice man at check in and housekeeping, which get a 5) were phenomenally rude and unhelpful and unaccomodating.

Lets move on to amenities. The fitness center is actually the community fitness center 1/2 mile away, and it basically looks like a Y. The indoor pool in the picture on the website (which clearly has been doctored), is a nasty concrete Y lap pool (wish I took a picture so you can appreciate the deceptive advertising). The outdoor pool is part of the community, not the Fearrington. You need passes to use either or, and they are only good for a day.

The paths basically just wind around the modern planned community. The village has a shop or two, but otherwise nothing at all worth visiting.

We have rarely been disappointed with Relais properties (recently have been at Blackberry Farm and Pitcher Inn... both 5 stars), but this one was a complete let down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 33 like the plague unless you want to be above the bank ATM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AAndTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed here before and enjoyed it. Large rooms, nice pool, excellent afternoon tea and they now have a casual restaurant with delicious food. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
262 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Although we have eaten in the restaurant many times, come here every Halloween for the creatively carved pumpkins, and even had our rehearsal dinner here, we have never spent the night in the inn - but now that we know what we were missing, we will definitely return!

We stayed for anniversary, and were upgraded from a regular room to the Grand Suite - and boy was it grand! Tucked away a short walk from the inn are the suites. Our entry way had a small table which held welcome gifts of Fearrington bottled water, jelly bellies, Ghiradelli chocolate, and sea salt potato chips. Classical music playing added to the peaceful ambience.

The living room area has a flat screen tv, magazines, couch, chairs and a phone, along with several Relais & Chateaux related books. The bathroom is huge - separate jacuzzi tub,large shower, heated towel racks, double sinks, vanity table andchair, and separate toilet area. Large walk in closet with safe, robes and slippers. Gorgeous canopied bed with 12 of the biggest pillows imaginable! Writing desk, toile drapesand bed spread, frette linens, bowl of frest fruit, bowl of apples, port and chocolate truffels at bed time.

Other nice touches were tea from 4-5 (the raspberry tea is delcious, as is the egg salad tea sandwich, crab biscuit, and mini scones), lovely full breakfast (best croissants ever!), and the lovely grounds - herb garden, several flower gardens, fountains, courtyards, etc provide for wonderful strolls and photographic opportunities!

Our package included a $25 gift card at the shops, which, of course, this Mommy spent on treats for her Carson ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The welcome, accommodation and setting of the Fearrington House are excellent
However our experience of dining was much less satisfactory. We arrived for afternoon tea and had to fetch our own chair for the only table available, cakes brought then long wait for tea.

Arrived for dinner as booked, given menu then left for 20 minutes with no attention. I asked the server for a small bread roll to be told rudely they were all the same size (which they were not!) What happened to do not argue with the customer!

We were also given a check for the whole meal when we we were on a dinner B& B package and they took a while to bring the correct check

I had a couple of other small complaints which I listed in a form in the room but no one from the hotel has contacted me.

When we got back to the room it had been turned down and little treats left for us. Breakfast was great.

In summary the experience of the accommodation was excellent but the restaurant was not what I would I would expect given the cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was my 2nd. time here and what a treat! I felt right at home...A perfect place for a relaxing country retreat and haven! The minute you approach the Village you know you are in a special place... peaceful, out in the country, picturesque, relaxing, the unique belted cows, the many walking paths, the cute fainting goats, the book shop, 'The Belted Goat' coffee shop with delicious coffees, salads, sandwiches... the Granary Restaurant, the Fearrington rooms are cared for in detail and simply wonderful. The staff is attentive to detail. A fabulous hotel, restaurant, village, shops, spa, grounds, perfect! I recommend The Spa at Fearrington, the staff is polished, professional, kind and attentive. The products are simply the best!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Spa-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsboro
7.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
1,217 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
15.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
9.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
385 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fearrington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fearrington House Inn

Property: The Fearrington House Inn
Address: 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr, Pittsboro, NC 27312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fearrington House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fearrington House Inn is a Relais & Chateaux property located just south of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Set amidst extensive gardens and rolling pastures, this 32 room inn features individually decorated rooms and suites as well as award-winning service. Guests also enjoy relaxing treatments at the Spa at Fearrington and browsing our stores including Dovecote and Haven, both home and gift shops, and McIntyre's Books, one of the South's most celebrated independent bookstores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Fearrington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fearrington House Hotel Pittsboro
Fearrington Inn Pittsboro Nc
Fearrington House Pittsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing