We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must”

Carolina Tiger Rescue
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a refuge for tigers and other exotic cats.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a must”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

the guide's are very knowledgeable but also add a bit of humor and they are volunteers and you can see they have a genuine love for the cats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank daftbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderfully educational and rare close up encounters!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Took my two sons;8 & 10 at the time and a friend to CTR. It was a drizzly day but not enough to really warrant umbrellas..more of a mist. Regardless it was fascinating! The animals are incredible and their habitats are large and lush. They are all rescues and have their own stories. We chose to do a private tour and my sons (and us) got to ask as many questions as we wanted and our guide was very knowledgable and clearly respects and loves these beautiful creatures. I would HIGHLY recommend it! We all thoroughly enjoyed it and walked away knowing a lot more than we did going in;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Up close and personal!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to take visitors and kids - get to see all kinds of cats up close and personal and the guides are usually full of great information. It did get a bit long for smaller kids when I took 4-5 yr olds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pinapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family tour of the Tiger Rescue”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent tour, we learned so much and saw lots of animals being lovingly cared for by dedicated people. We were there in the summer months & it was hot but we rested & drank water along the way. It's a great stop for all ages.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, United States
Level Contributor
533 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I actually volunteered here about 15 years ago and still like to visit. It is not the cleanest and best zoo you will ever see, but I guarantee you will not find a better selection of wild cats at this place. You can learn so much here and, it is a place worth supporting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Tiger Rescue also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Tiger Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing