We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations”

Carolina Tiger Rescue
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a refuge for tigers and other exotic cats.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reservations”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a sanctuary not a zoo, so you need to plan ahead to visit here and buy tickets online. However we were able to get to the gift shop and donate to the rescue

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CherieLynn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love visiting the big cats!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is our favorite NC destination and now an annual must-do. We've been to the twilight tour and the morning (but still very hot) tour. Of the two, I strongly recommend the twilight tour. The animals seemed more relaxed and available, and in the morning, they are easily distracted by the food truck. But, both times, we've seen most of the animals (the ones on the tour, anyway - some are tour-shy). We're partial to the tigers, but they have lions, ocelots, cougars, bobcats, servals, etc. Most of them do have sad histories, but they are now in a good place and are well cared for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank RosebankMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A truly unique MUST-SEE!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Different than a zoo, because you get up much closer and get a guided tour and explanation about "big cats". We've been several times and it's always a bit different which is great. Go at dusk during feeding time for the best chance to see the cats play and interact

Helpful?
4 Thank SusanRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A chance to get up close and personal with tigers”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A wonderful experience - the guide had great insights on the residents and their histories.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cats”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The animals receive such loving care at the Rescue Center. Just watch out for Romeo or Tony the Tiger who love to "spray" the visitors. Stay well back from the cages unless you want a shower that you will have to shower off.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Tiger Rescue also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Tiger Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing