We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love barbeque find another restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen and Son

Allen and Son
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you love barbeque find another restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our dinner began when our waitress came to our table telling us that she couldn't wait to quit her job. That should have been a signal for us to leave. My friends ordered pulled pork and ribs. The pulled pork was doused in a vinegary sauce. My chicken dinner tasted as if it had been sitting in the kitchen for days on end. It was thoroughly dried out. To compensate for the dried out chicken the chef poured a gloppy mess of barbeque sauce over the fowl.

Unfortunately we didn't have another opportunity to search for real North Carolina barbeque. We'll have to wait for our next trip.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank centralparkpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chapel hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good experience had by all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I went to Allen and Son with a bunch of Europeans to give them a taste of true North Carolina down home barbeque and no one left disappointed. Generally I recommended the barbeque sandwich with hush puppies. I put a dash of Texas Pete's on mine for the ultimate gastronomic experience. I have visited this restaurant many times over the years and still love it. They have no website but complete information, including a menu is available at http://chapelhilljournal.com/allen.html
Also to be noted, only takes cash

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jholelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best bbq around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great pit-cooked pork bbq. Good fixins as well, including fresh home-made lemonade. No greens unfortunately, but really good low-mayonaise slaw. Try the tater tots too. Cash only. Dine-in or walk-up window take-out.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HemingwayGyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you like BBQ try this! We love the baked beans, hush puppies and tea.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaks827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Authentic Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Read in a magazine that this was voted the #1 BBQ joint in North Carolina so when we found ourselves just an hour's drive away from Pittsboro, we felt obligated to visit. We arrived hungry and it's just as well. For $10 or less you can get a huge plate of Carolina BBQ pork (vinegar based sauce), homemade coleslaw and hushpuppies. Restaurant is actually located between Pittsboro and Chapel Hill so don't get discouraged if you're in Pittsboro and can't find it -- the street numbering system is kind of messed up. You can either order to take away or eat outside, or eat in their plain, no-frills dining room. This is definitely a local hangout, but worth the visit by a tourist if you like to try different BBQs. Allen and Son even sell colorful t-shirts!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allen and Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing