We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best in NC”

The Fearrington House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fearrington House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $95 - $105
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Way
Description: The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House, a member of Relais & Chateaux, have welcomed guests for thirty years. It’s here that Executive Chef Colin Bedford continues a commitment to exceptional regional cuisine.
Chapel Hill, Nc, Usa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best of the best in NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I shared a special event at the Fearrington House Restaurant. It was one of the best meals and best service that we have ever experienced. We have dined at the Inn at Little Washington recently and Fearrington House is an experience every bit as outstanding. We had great wine and the menu was creative but not too out there. Try the pork as it is local and excellent. The produce is from local area farms and is fresh and well chosen. This is one of the best dining experiences ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    34
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luncheon Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was recently in the Chapel Hill/Raleigh/Durham area. It was suggested that, given some spare time, we should visit Fearrington House and Restaurant. Fearrington is a member of Relais & Chateaux which is a family of fine restaurants and hotels. From this membership, I was expecting a great experience. And was not disappointed. The mid-week lunch was truly delightful. The ambience of the spring day and the outside dining was only surpassed by the absolutely delicious lunch menu. Fresh produce, presentation and service were outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing stay and dinner at Fearrington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wow, one of the best dinners we have had. We're pretty spoiled with good restaurants around the world, Fearrington House is the best place around here for a special occasion or like this visit it makes any night into a special occasion. We had a delightful dinner with friends, service was excellent. The announcements of each dish is a little over the top, but they manage to be right there when you need them with good advice and disappear when not needed. It's a special dinner, so plan to enjoy and take your time. Chef Colin is innovative and with 4 of us trying out a total of about 15 different dishes everything was beautifully presented and tested wonderful. I had the "Poached Pineapple with Chai Tea Espuma and Passionfruit & Banana Sorbet", heavenly. If the budget can handle it, stay the night and enjoy the tea with all kinds of treats as well as the incredible breakfast dishes. What a treat. Planning our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rejsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We dined here for our 27th anniversary and everything was beautiful AND delicious. This had been on my bucket list for some time, and we enjoyed it very much. Not for the budget-minded, so forget what you're spending and just enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoo_city_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philahky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A magical meal and weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Fearrington House--it was magical! The accommodations and restaurant were superb. The 8-course chefs tasting menu was world-class as were the wine pairings. This meal rivaled the best meals we've ever had--including great meals in France and the French Laundry. The celery root & foie gras soup paired with a 2008 JJ Prum Kabinett was divine. The Lobster ravioli with "waldorf salad" and caviar cream with a 2012 Vermentino from Sardegna was amazing. The Roasted Lamb Loin with Confit Garlic Potato Fondant paired with Chateau de Fonsalatte was better than incredible. (Trust the Sommeliers!) Expensive and worth every penny. Food/wines paired with thought, care, precision and talent. Wow!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philahky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fearrington House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fearrington House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing