We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service was a bit off”

The Fearrington House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fearrington House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $95 - $115
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Way
Description: The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House, a member of Relais & Chateaux, have welcomed guests for thirty years. It’s here that Executive Chef Colin Bedford continues a commitment to exceptional regional cuisine.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food but service was a bit off”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We dined at the Fearrington House with some friends a few weeks ago. We have been to some of the top restaurants in the county and would put this on par with The Inn at Little Washington. Food was excellent and was presented beautifully. The only thing that was off that night was the service. I actually had to get out of my seat to track down a waiter to order a drink for someone in our party. Aside from that, the experience was great and we would go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vabeach_bums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    34
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You MUST eat here”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Best dinner of my life, hands down. This place books up fast so make your reservations early. We chose the 3 course meal, and it was phenominal. I had the poached lobster 1st course, searred scallops for the main, and a poached pear with ice cream for dessert. My husband started with the pheasant, which was very tastey. We asked the wine expert to pick us a wine. We told her what types of rieslings we normally drink and the area of german rieslings we like. The wine she picked was perfect!

Yes, our bill was pricey but its lovely to have such a perfect dinner every once in a while

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dani2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

One of the best meals we have had in years. Everything on the menu was fantastic, the service is top quality, the atmosphere of the restaurant unbelieveable. Perfect place for a special occassion

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Preston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Meal in I can't remember how long!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had dinner on a Friday night with them. We chose the 3 course meal and a bottle of wine. The wine selection was amazing, some very expensive bottles, but also some rarely found French wines for a very reasonable price. Each one of the dishes was exquisitely prepared. The unusual flavors they combined blended marvelously. Between each course they offered a small nibble. The portion sizes were perfect. I won't forget this wonderful meal...could I dare to say ever?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, adequate food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This would be a perfect regular hangout if only there was consistency with service. Cant put my finger on the problem...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaks827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fearrington House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fearrington House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing