We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So sorry” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Donna

Bella Donna
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Donna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to give BD one more chance. The original restaurant was so great. When they moved to the new place, we had really bad service and food, and so we waited a year before trying again.
The atmosphere was much better. Quiet, calm. Wait staff friendly and conscientious. However she brought us the wrong wine, then explained she didn't know anything about wine. She apologized profusely. Then we waited over an hour for our dinners. Spaghetti and ribbon pasta. The ribbon pasta seemed to have two different kinds of pasta in it. Half was flat and smooth, and the other half twisted and curly. When we left, my husband commented that we would not be returning, the response was," ok." The host didn't ask why. No one seemed concerned at all. I rarely comment on a bad experience, but this is twice, and it costs too much to try again. The bill was $50.00 for two glasses of wine, one appetizer, and two pasta dinners

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyBsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good place for Italian dinner in Pittsboro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Had the veal with asparagus and poor man home made pastas, enjoyed it not your typical chain restaurant food and using local products when possible. The seafood pastas and lasagnas looked good too and the house merlot was quite ok. friendly service, home made pastas and pizzas, all that justifying the addition of Bella Donna on my list of places to dine in Pittsboro. Nice to see the Pittsboro restaurant scene developing with a local food support and more options for food selection. Did not try the tiramisu since portion sizes were enough, but would be curious...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Herve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pizza is homemade; other food is OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The seasonings are a bit bland in the entrees, but the pizza crust is homemade. It's puffy and satisfyingly chewy. The new location has a slightly strange layout, but hats off to them for repurposing an old Pizza Hut location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mbaChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently moved to Town and have been getting familiar with the offerings here. We tried Bella Donna for the first time.....and the last. The menu was over-priced and average tasting. My wife's Shrimp Scampi was devoid of Garlic. My Veal Parm was a godd portion but was more suited to be served in a cafeteria. Our canoli was too sweet and I didn't taste any ricotta cheese in it. We undertsand their pizzas are supposed to be their signature dish but it will be a while before we could try that. Our waiter was understanding of our dissapointment and was exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuyRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced - not pleased”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had visited the restaurant when it was at the old location for lunch. I was somewhat satisfied then but was very excited to see them moving into an actual restaurant and creating a new venue for pittsboro. Made a reservation for two (husband and myself) for 7:30, got there early and ended up in a folding plastic chair that was so low compared to the table height that our backs were aching from the lack of ergonomics. We ordered our appetizer only to find out they had run out of the stuffed mushrooms so we would have to try something else. The spinach and artichoke dip at $7. We got a small shallow ramekin with two pieces of crostini. My husband ordered Pepsi to drink and after the first refill our waiter told him that was the last of the Pepsi so he cold get him something else if he wanted. We looked at each other so confused. We got to order our entrees and asked for side salads only to find out that a side Caesar salad was $5!! Entrees came out, chicken Alfredo and the Tuscan chicken. The chicken from both entrees was very good but both dishes of pasta were so salty we couldn't finish it. According to the waiter this was the "authentic" way of preparing pasta.
This part of my review was by pure happenstance and not the restaurants fault, but we went on a Friday night and behind us was a party of about 12 people and of those 12 were about 9 kids of various age all loud, all obnoxious with no regard for restaurant etiquette. The wood floor was prey to loud crashing silverware being dropped and the wood ceiling prey to echoing screaming and kids talking over each other. We asked our waiter if it was always that loud. He stated the kids being there was causing all the extra ruckus and we realized we would just have to deal with it.
Overall, we will not go back. Pittsboro is a small town, and not the right place for the prices demanded by this restaurant. It's common knowledge that the owner purchased a property that needed renovating and that the restaurant was funded by several individuals and organizations. Obviously the restaurant must demand high prices to make up the funding and turn a profit. $75 is a lot to pay for two people to eat in pittsboro. Olive Garden doesn't even charge this much and the salad is complimentary! They also don't run out of food and drink. We will stick with franchise in this case.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBum424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Donna also viewed

 

Been to Bella Donna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing