We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakleaf

Oakleaf
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have been to Oakleaf several times for delicious dinners, and in the last 2 weeks I have been to lunch and brunch. Everything I have eaten there has been very, very good, and the staff is quite pleasant and accommodating. Several of my lunch companions enjoyed the heirloom tomato dishes; found themto be wonderful. They have some rather different items on the brunch menu, including a fun sausage gravy dish which was quite tasty. Wonderful coffee and excellent beignets. Desserts are excellent, especially the lemon buttermilk pudding. Lovely cheese plate, also. Pittsboro is a really nice little town with some cute shops, especially the Phoenix bakery. Nearby also is the Mark Hewitt pottery, where we attended a kiln opening on Saturday. Very well known potter with great variety of pottery.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    45
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
annapolis
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprising for Pittsboro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is just a good quality restaurant in a restored mill building that's trying to become an attraction. The old brick structure has been parsed into space for shops and this large restaurant in this old mill town with few attractions. Pittsboro is a town about 30 miles from Raleigh and about 15 miles from any other city. Dinner choices in town seem to be low end fast food chains so I was surprised to find such a nice place.

Oakleaf has a bar and menu that you'd expect to find in a major city. Duck Breast, Scallops and excellent salads. The pastry chef puts together nice desserts as well. Prices comparable to city restaurant but reasonable for what you get. I went on a Wednesday night and the place was fairly busy. Definitely the best place in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“S'wonderful, S'marvelous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our 4th or 5th visit and Oakleaf just keeps getting better and better.Everything-except the coffee(see below) was just perfect all 6 of us agreed:the mixed drinks, soup, salad, steaks, fish, duck,dessert, service. It's a beautiful large space in a gorgeous converted mill and it was surprisingly and refreshingly quiet and the tables are generously well-spaced apart from each other. My one teeny tiny gripe was that the French press coffee was lukewarm, though very high quality. This issue , I think, is the fault of the French press method and not the restaurant. I'm sure Oakleaf is trying to give us the freshest cup of coffee they can. Oakleaf may well be the very best restaurant I've visited in North Carolina and I've been here 42 years.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chuboiNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took a 2 week long road trip. One of our stops was Pittsboro. I searched for restaurants on tripadvisor and it gave me Oakleaf as one of the choices. Excellent place. Located in an old mill, the atmosphere is perfect and food fantastic. Menu changes according to availability of ingredients. I had ricotta gnocchi with various local mushrooms- incredible. Desert was just majestic. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ijb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Loved the steak and the very fresh veggies. Drinks are pricey and I didn't recognize hardly any of the names. I appreciate that they support local vendors but put a couple of mainstream names on there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maresnest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing