We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great brunch at Oakleaf”
Review of Oakleaf

Oakleaf
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great brunch at Oakleaf”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We met for brunch at Oakleaf to celebrate my mom's 70th birthday. The old mill setting was great and we loved the farmer's market outside as well as the grocery store co-op next door. Two people at our table ordered the burger and said it was excellent. Myself and three others had the Grilled English Cheddar & Sage Sandwich on Sourdough with Triple Cheese Sauce and a farm egg. It was amazing! Really interesting flavors that came together very well. The children had pancakes or french toast and both entrees were fine. (The biggest hit for the kids, though, were the thinly sliced apple slices we ordered as appetizers for them. My 7 year old liked them so much that she took it upon herself to order more when her entree arrived!) The staff was extremely accomodating of our large party and the food was reasonably priced. Oakleaf is a gem--Brendan and Leslie Cox have outdone themselves. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    45
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Chef's Night Out”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My brother and his wife run a well regarded restaurant in Chapel Hill, NC and on black Friday we went with them to the Oak Leaf, which they had always wanted to try.

It is in an auster setting in a former mill or factory but is reasonably comfortable. The first course salads we ordered were a ll fresh and interesting with local greens and other vegetables like beets and radishes. The presentation is quite attractive and the portions not large but adequate.

My blackened flounder was quite tasty as was my wife's medium rare duck breast. The others in our party ordered pasta with mushrooms and truffle oil, gnocchi and monkfish all of which were beautifully presented and which they enjoyed too much to offer a taste.

We sampled a couple of desserts as well. The pot de creme was not quite as chocolatey as we like, as it had a good bit of marshmallow, but the brown sugar torte was very sweet and delicious.

Service was friendly if a tad inefficient. they have a full bar with a good selection of wines by the glass.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanoiIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal in this very unique restaurants that is in a renovated Old mill. The service was wonderful and we would definitely come back if we were in the area again!

Helpful?
Thank marytspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“must go back”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On a friends recommendation, we came here for an early dinner. We kept it simple, the full cheese plate with the olives, raisin compote and cheeses to share which was a nice start. A couple of baskets of bread, then grouper (1) and goat cheese gnocchi (2). The portions are not large but are sufficient, beautifully done and delicious. The bonus of the portions is that we all had room for dessert. We shared the brown sugar tarte (lovely brown sugar flavour), souffled lemon buttermilk pudding (very light with real lemon flavour - a larger portion would have been even more satisfying) and the bittersweet chocolate pots de creme (lovely dark chocolate with a hint of coffee - and overall winner) - some of the best desserts I have had in a while. I would go back just for the desserts, but want to check out more of their offerings as there are a number that look very appealing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magill1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an amazing restaurant!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were expecting a good restaurant but it turned out to be amazing. The food is certainly for the connoisseur. We experimented with one the "interesting wines" on the menu and server asked the bartender based on our wine preference. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We then ordered the smoked trout and the soup -both very good. But the real pièce de résistance was the rabbit loin with foie gras. Amazingly well made dish. The Caramelized Goat Cheese Gnocchi was also excellent. Dont expect super sized dished, the food is just enough to fill you for a single meal - as any meal should be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatG1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing