We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Lovely evening, great dinners.”
Review of Oakleaf

Oakleaf
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow! Lovely evening, great dinners.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Special evening .Special attention given by the waitstaff, , excellent wine recommendation, ( surprise, Monday is 13.00 off any bottle). Excellent mussels appetizer large enough to share or as an entree with a salad. Lovely salads, not too big, and a little different.
Two of us had fish, wonderful. Three had steak, also delicious. Desserts irresistible.
Go there. It's kind of pricy. Lunch is also great and less expensive.
The ambiance is nice, it's in the old Chatham Mill, restored and quite lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyBsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A treat for the senses”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a recent trip to Pittsboro. We sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and helped us decide what to choose. What impressed me was the Chef's use of herbs. Everything was complex and flavorful starting with the steamed mussels, to the pork chop and triggerfish, down to the lemony dessert and grapefruit wine. It was truly fabulous!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Maybe the best meal ever”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's been a long time since I've eaten anywhere near this good. They are casual but perfectionists. It's a wonderful combination. Laid back but exquisite food and atmosphere. We had high expectations, but still, it blew our socks off! And given the quality of EVERYTHING, prices felt reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Uniquely wonderful atmosphere, farm to table food.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited Oakleaf for lunch and will certainly return. The restaurant is in an old mill and they have done a wonderful job of creating a warm, yet cosmopolitan feel to an old space. The food was just delicious and if price is a factor, go for the Millworker's lunch (any 2 items for $15.00 and one of those items can be a glass of wine). My husband had the trout (delicious) and the oyster appetizer (slightly overbreaded). I had the ginger and carrot soup (which I loved) and probably the best burger I have ever had in my life. Wish we lived closer, because we would frequent Oakleaf for dinner! It would be a great stopover on your way to spend some time at Fearrington Village!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of our best dining experiences ever! Every bite has so much of flavor and texture. And the little touches made the meal - warm service dishes, chilled glasses for drinks, etc. The staff were so warm and friendly, chatting with us and sharing experiences.

This was a fantastic fine dining experience that would be welcome anywhere in the world!! We will be back!!!

(I know that some reviewers will disagree but the cost of 5 first courses, one bottle of bubbly AND a dessert came in under $75 which was an incredible value)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slinky2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing