We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobnob Cafe at the Cradle of Forestry”
Review of Cradle of Forestry

Cradle of Forestry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Continuing a legacy of forest conservation history, the Cradle of Forestry offers a snap shot of life at America's first school of Forestry along the Biltmore Campus Trail. You can also take a picturesque walk along the Forest Festival Trail complete with a restored 1915 logging locomotive, or take a simulated ride with firefighters aboard a helicopter on their way to a roaring fire in the wilds of Idaho in the Forest Discovery Center Exhibit Hall. Come explore the sights and sounds, check out the events and activities, and plan your adventure at the birthplace of Forest Conservation in America - the Cradle of Forestry in America. We are CLOSED November-March.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
South Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hobnob Cafe at the Cradle of Forestry”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Cradle of Forestry is well worth the trip! We took both hikes to look at the exhibits. Be sure to press the buttons to hear the sounds of the stream engine and the students in the cabin. Don't pass up the simulated helicopter ride. There is also a wonderful cafe onsite - the food was outstanding, not your typical cafe. We sat and enjoyed the view with our tomato bisque soup and carved turkey, avocado and bean sprout sandwiches.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
479 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The man asked, "Are you taking the helicopter ride?"”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Cradle of Forestry was interesting from the start. The scenes depicting the progression of the forestry events were so life like that I expected one of the statues to be a mime and move. As we headed toward the end of the building a man asked if I was taking the helicopter ride. That caught me by surprise. You get into a real looking helicopter set and take part in a simulation. That was different!

The walking trails lead from one exhibit to another in a quiet atmosphere, at least on the morning that we were there. You press a button in some of the exhibits and the explanation is given. You don't even have to have a guide so you can go there and enjoy at your leisure.

The walking was not difficult and the length with stop and go, break up the walking so that less active adults and young children can handle the experience.

This was a pleasant way to spend the morning, get exercise, fresh air, and learn about the importance of conservation and the beautiful forests we have here in the United States.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So interesting for everyone.”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This interactive museum and environmental display venue has many different features: there's the history of the development and conservation of the forest, a great educational gift shop, snack bar, a simulated fire-spotters' helicopter ride, etc. We all love it.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank low-keytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cradle of Forestry”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We love this place and have visited several times. Great easy walks, learn the beginnings of planned forestry in the US, see the rail system used for logging there, beautiful forest. Two different, easy informative walks. Definitely worth doing.

Helpful?
Thank bonnierdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Learn how the forestry began. A short movie as well as walk and learn thru this nice building. There is even a free similator that kids will enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Kissme2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cradle of Forestry also viewed

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cradle of Forestry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing