We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place!”

Pisgah National Forest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A park within easy driving distance from Hendersonville that offers hiking, camping and fishing.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This area is awesome! I lived nearby for a summer and have returned at least every other year since. I start in Brevard and just drive. Stop at Raccoon Tree for a picnic and to wade in the river. Davison River Campground is a great place to stay. Looking Glass Falls is the most photographed east of the Mississippi, and for very good reason. I have to stop, wade in the river, wander down stream, swim a bit on a really hot day. Moores Cove Falls is next, about a mile hike but a great walk and really wonderful scenery. Be on the look-out for snakes and give them their space. Sliding Rock is awesome. It has become a fee area, but still worth the stop. Go on up to Mt. Pisgah - great views. Take the Blue Ridge Parkway and wander down to Graveyard Fields. It's just a wonderful spot for vacation, all around.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Moou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    56
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sycamore Flats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Great place for a picnic-they have grills you can use and picnic tables-or wading in the river.On site restrooms,as well. Short walking trail. Get there early on the weekends,as it can get crowded.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtngolfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well marked, Very Accessible Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were so pleased to find the beautiful falls in the Pisgah National forest and to find that they were easy to get to. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Pisgah and hope to go back and stay at the Davidson campground.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvstocamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unspoiled and Lush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Took a day trip last weekend in August to Mt. Pisgah and to Pisgah National Forest. The trails were well maintained and marked for easy, moderate and challenging. Most places were quiet and it was like we had the whole place to ourselves except at the numerous and beautiful waterfalls. We didn't go to Sliding Rock, apparently the premier attraction in the Forest because there were lots of folks enjoying it, just because we were on a romantic outing.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirror013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Can't wait to go back! Just watch the hairpin turns driving down the mountain! Many beauitful places to stop and see the waterfalls!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmullady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisgah National Forest also viewed

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing