We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little known, but worthwhile historic site”

President James K. Polk State Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Pineville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site is located on land once owned by the parents of James K. Polk, the 11th U.S. president. The state historic site commemorates significant events in the Polk administration: the Mexican-American War, settlement of the Oregon boundary dispute, and the annexation of California. Reconstructions of typical homestead buildings—a log house, separate kitchen, and barn—are authentically furnished. The visitor center features a film on Polk's life and exhibits on his family and tumultuous presidency.
Warner Robins, GA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little known, but worthwhile historic site”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Surprisingly well kept site considering its size. The guided tour is very informative about rural life in the late 1700s, early 1800s as well as about Polk's family. The 12-minute film taught me a couple things I didn't know about his presidency, despite being a history buff.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and knowledgable, answering numerous questions. Our guide took the time to work directly with four youngsters, who stopped texting when he got their interest. A worthwhile one-hour stop to learn about one of our lesser known presidents.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gatorsjimandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polk12031, Manager at President James K. Polk State Historic Site, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear gatorsjimandann,

I am thrilled that you visited us and that you had a great experience. It sounds like the staff provided you with a great tour. Our staff prides itself in taking the time to really interact with each visitor. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

All the best!

Scott Warren
Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia SC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no guided tour”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I asked for a guided tour on Saturday afternoon afternoon, July 27th. It had rained earlier in the day, but was not raining when I asked for the tour. I was told there would be no tours that day because the had been "torrential rains" earlier that day. I walked the grounds wearing white sandals and it did not get them dirty. The grounds are covered with thick grass and the was no mud. I drove from Columbia, SC just to visit James K. Polk site and was very upset that I could not take the tour because neither one of the two guides on duty wanted to do their job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polk12031, Manager at President James K. Polk State Historic Site, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Louise R,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have spoken with the staff that was working that day. It is our policy that if there is, or has been inclement weather that day, we temporarily suspend tours until the weather has had a chance to clear or the grounds have had a chance to dry out. If we do not allow this, then that could potienally damage the historic resource that we are charged with protecting. I hope that you understand our charge and that we would not be good stewarts of our cultural property if we did not take steps to protect it. I hope that you will visit us again soon and that the weather will allow you to take a tour.

All the best!

Scott Warren
Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“history”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great place to learn about one of our presidents and how his family lived. Have a small home site and tour. Wish place had stayed open later.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CEDARPOINTCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkpolk12031, Manager at President James K. Polk State Historic Site, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear CedarPointChick,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We thank you for taking the time to learn about our 11th President, James K. Polk. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit. All the best!

Scott Warren
Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but historically worth it”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The site is very very small. I feel like there is so much more that should be there or should be done with it. But the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Definitely a good history lesson

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkpolk12031, Manager at President James K. Polk State Historic Site, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Kelly,

Thank you so much for stopping by. We are glad you cam by and it was nice to hear that you had a great experience from the staff. Please come again!

Scott Warren
Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Every presidential place I go to I find how the pieces of our history fit together better than before. This place is a reconstruction, has a great museum and good orientation film of Little Hickory. Definitely a stop for any Texan wanting to understand a piece of their history. He was the President that finished Western Expansion - TX, NM, CA, OR, WA, ID, NV and UT all came into our country under his presidency. Anyway, go and find out how he did it for yourselves!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkpolk12031, Manager at President James K. Polk State Historic Site, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear James W,

Thank you for visitng the President James K. Polk State Historic Site. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the museum and the film on Polk's presidency. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you through Pineville. All the best!

Scott Warren
Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed President James K. Polk State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to President James K. Polk State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing