We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian High Kitsch”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Pineville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pineville Matthews Road/Rt 51 and 485
Transit: CAT bus stop at Caroline Place Mall.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Italian High Kitsch”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We first experienced this chain on a trip to Atlanta. Saw the list of locations and, pleasantly, discovered this one in an area we frequent. Italian food is a tricky topic, depending on individual opinion of what one has come to think of as good. Is it THE best Italian I, personally, have ever eaten? No. But I can tell you the tiramisu is pretty impressive. My husband and I were on a getaway weekend and decided to share this dish. Two days later we were still dining on it from our hotel mini-fridge. The serving was huge and up there with some of the best tiramisu we've had. The food is in family style size servings and meant to be shared. The decor is pure kitsch and it's everywhere including the bathrooms. It makes for a fun dining experience. This restaurant is located in the heart of a commercial area and was walkable from our hotel. So, taken that the food is good and there is atmosphere and an attentive, accommodating staff, I rate the overall experience to be what I'm seeking in a restaurant. Evenings and weekends are busy so expect a wait if you haven't planned ahead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogogirlsouthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    32
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Frozen lasagna is better”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been here many times and had mostly good food, but not today. We love the prosciutto stuffed chicken; however, today we opted for lasagna - big mistake! No flavor at all. Had to ask our server for bread-twice! Usually enjoy the food -- not the best I've ever had but usually good with ample portions. We had a coupon which our server said she applied but upon checking the receipt, she had not and my husband had to have her do it again!

Helpful?
Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Service for Large Crowd”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I needed to find a place for 40 co-workers that could accommodate a crowd of 60 (40 + spouses) without breaking the bank. Buca fit the bill. The food was very good (not excellent but better than average) and the back room easily accommodated our group and the service was very good. Everyone enjoyed the festive Italian atmosphere and we were able to enjoy the food and company. We will come back here again next year if we are able.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTKiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food at decent price”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Most visits go well; however, service is unpredictable. I've had good and bad service but always good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice experience.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were fortunate to arrive at 5 p.m. on a Friday when no other guests were there. Seeing as September is football season, many folks may have been out watching some type of football game whether it be high school or professional. The restaurant wasn't noisy at all, but I can imagine it being loud during busier hours.

The service was great. Tristan was extra polite and made sure we understood the menu as well as the portions we would be receiving since this was our first time visiting Buca di Beppo. There were only three of us, and a small portion of what we ordered was too big! We boxed up the main course and took it home. The small portion says that it's for two "or more" people. It could easily serve four to be honest. That's not a bad thing. At least you get your money's worth for the most part!

As for the cuisine, the Apple Gorgonzola Salad was like potpourri for the mouth. It was delicious and gave us high expectations at the start of our meal. If I were to recommend anything, it would be this salad. For the main course, we also ordered the Chicken & Sausage Ziti. This was okay, however the chicken was really bland. The texture of the chicken was more like turkey to me, and it tasted very dry. Everything else about this dish was great, but the chicken kind of sucked the life out of it. It was the only flaw in our meal, but it was a pretty big flaw.

I do want to return to Buca di Beppo again with a larger crowd. We have a few birthdays coming up, so one of them could very well be spent at this restaurant! It would be an excellent place to bring a party based on the atmosphere and the "throne room". We just won't order chicken next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueJay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing