We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pineola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huskins Court and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our perfect weekend in the mountains! The temps were just right and the scenery so refreshing. Our stay at Huskins,made it easy to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

We stayed in one of the suites. My husband and I in one room,and my son in the next,joined by a bathroom. The water was very hot,no cold showers for sure! The rooms were clean and comfortable,even had a quilt on the bed.

Juanita,was very helpful and friendly. She told us about local area attractions,recommended places to see,where to eat,and gave us maps to make finding them easier.
We came for a relaxing enjoyable time in the mountains and a nice comfortable,clean place to stay,without spending a fortune. Well, we got all that and more!

Hobbs the resident kitty, is there to check on things and of course look for head/chin rubs. Don't touch his lower back or belly,he doesn't like that!

Juanita, even called me after I got home to let me know that Hobbs had been found,(he was missing when we left). She let me know how glad she was that we had chose to stay at Huskins. I told her we will sure be back in the Spring and I would definitely tell others about our relaxing stay.
Thanks Juanita for everything! See ya next Spring,Lord willing!
Bobbie Swift

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbieswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an incredible place to stay! We drove in to see if there were any available rooms and Juanita kindly showed us a suite and said she could have it ready for us in an hour. She graciously started a fire in the fire pit in her front yard surrounded by benches, provided ice in glasses allowing us a relaxed evening to chat with other guests staying at the court, and provided coffee the next morning. She had great suggestions for places to eat and pointed us in the direction of a beautiful waterfall not listed on guides. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends. The rooms and bath are clean and comfortable and the price is very affordable. A treasured find!

Room Tip: Suites share a bath, there are individual rooms with a bath and two cottages with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the morning before we left we talked to Juanita, the proprietor. She told us her goal was to provide a place to stay that was clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. She has accomplished all those. If you're looking for a place with a great view, there isn't much of one, but you are very near lots of views. We verbally checked after stopping by, went to a beautiful setting near the Linville River (suggested by Juanita), and visited a grocery store for some refreshments for the evening. On our way back we asked if there was a place for a fire so we could enjoy the beautiful evening. When we got back to the Court the fire had been started with plenty of wood to keep us going. We met a couple from Connecticut taking some time off, and 4 archaeologist finishing up a project. We sat and talked until well after midnight. The next morning we called Juanita to let her know we were up (her request) and she brought over a pot of coffee and some cups to enjoy it.
The Court and Cottages is quaint and comfortable. The beds are mostly full size not queen, but the bathrooms are mostly new plumbing and fixtures. It was a great place to stay for the evening, and very friendly.
Juanita summed up the stay for us when she said, "We just love having comp'ny". We could tell.

Room Tip: The suites are two bedrooms that share a bathroom nothing fancy. They also have individual rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful little motel. We will be here again ASAP. The rooms are great and so is the service. Also the cat is very welcoming. The owners make you feel like out friends dropping by. The even brought coffee to our room once they realized we were up.

Room Tip: We chose the two room cottage because we had our 15 year old daughter and her friend. It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I came to the Pineola area for a friends wedding and decided to stay at Huskins Court and Cottages due to their fair pricing and the reviews that I saw on this website and others. All of the the reviews are accurate. Jerry and Juanita are fantastic people and extremely pleasant. They truly care about your time here and are willing to do just about anything to make your stay more comfortable. You won't find this kind of hospitality at the various motel chains that are plaguing this country.

The rooms are clean and simple. If you want granite counters and Jacuzzis in your room, this is not your place. This is a great spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and relax and read a book or whatever else your heart desires.

Additionally, Huskins is only about 10 minutes from Grandfather Mountain and 5 minutes from an access to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Hard to beat that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I went up to the mountains to just get away from our way too busy lives. We went up on Friday about 5pm and were met with the old timey hospitality that you just don't get anymore. Juanita was cooking up some stir-fry and Jerry was outside to greet us. These two are the nicest people you could ever meet. It makes getting away worth getting away more often. The cottage was nice and cozy and with plenty of room for the price. Everything was well maintained, clean, and in order. The refridgerator was full of food and lots of fresh fruit [not to say this is the norm] and Juanita insisted that we help ourselves to anything that was there. We usually stay in a much bigger cabin when we go out of town but his is by far the best place we ever stayed. I will recommend this to anyone who wants to go somewhere and feel like you are at home. We talked with Juanita on several occasions during our stay and we just feel like she and Jerry are part of our family now. This is a quiet relaxing place to vacate. Thank you Juanita and Jerry for making our weekend worth leaving home. This is also a pet friendly court

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I went up to NC for a quick weekend running adventure and stayed here for two nights. The rate was fantastic and the hospitality is even better (even the orange cat was welcoming!). The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The surrounding area is so peaceful with Christmas tree farms, mountains, trails and waterfalls all close by. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineola
8.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
15.6 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
627 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
467 reviews
17.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskins Court and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskins Court and Cottages

Address: Pineola, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Pineola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Price Range: $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Huskins Court And Cottages Hotel Pineola
Huskins Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing