We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Ridge Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pineola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huskins Court and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge Gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a warm and inviting place to stay! While on a recent business trip to Linville, N.C., we found ourselves late in the evening needing a place to stay for the night, perhaps two. Mrs Huskins, and Jerry were warm and accomodating for the late hour that it was. It was freezing out, but they prepared a pair of connecting suites for us that were already toasty warm when we walked in them. The units had all been recently renovated, and were very clean, and appointed with all the basic needs. We felt rescued for the night!. Thank you Jerry for being so attentive to making our stay as comfortable as possible. It was SNOWING outside Sunday morning, and Mrs Huskins brought over a whole pot of fresh coffee to our rooms. What a nice thing to do! The room rates were extremely reasonable. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay in this lovely mountain town, you won't be disappointed here. Look for "Hobbs", the large, and friendly orange kitty-cat. He guards the property. Thank you Mrs Huskins and Jerry, for making our business trip seem more like a vacation! Can't wait to return. Stephanie, Audrey, & Mike --- Jacksonville, Florida

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
15
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here and rented the 2 bedroom large cottage. This is a quaint country property with very sincere and polite owners. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. We would stay here again. We had breakfast at the River Dog Cafe close by and was great, and for dinner we ate at The Italian Restaurant about 3/4 mile away and highly recommend. Overall a great location to explore the area and to enjoy the country quiet atmosphere. Reasonable too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This weekend we stayed at Huskins Court in 2bdrm cottage.Ms.Juanita made us very welcomed and comfortable.I loved the cottage it was very clean and cozy and warm ,she gave us her wonderful homemade soup and breakfast fixings.we were there to get away from grieve,having lost my mother-n-law a few weeks before.The hurt went with us but the welcome was excellent.Thanks to Juanita and Jerry for making us feel at home away from home

Room Tip: I like the cottages or the price and #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa and Geo... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

During a terrible snow storm last weekend, we became stranded in Pineola on our way home from Charlotte. We had no food or supplies and have 2 small children. We were rudely turned away from Pineola Inn because the owner didn't want to interrupt his dinner to help us. We turned back up the slick hill and found this little motel.

When we got out of the car, the owner was incredibly kind. She helped us get our car parked and gave us a personal tour of our room. She even offered to scrounge up some food for us since it was getting late and our kids were hungry. The snow made the roads almost impassable.

The motel is very old but clean and comfortable. It is under new management, and it sounds like she has terrific plans for upgrades. This place was just what we needed at a very reasonable price.

I look forward to staying at this motel again sometime under less stressful circumstances. It would be perfect for a weekend getaway to Linville Falls and Jonas Ridge for tubing!

To the owner: thank you so much for your kindness. You were an angel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a high-end luxury hotel, this is not it; HOWEVER, if you are looking for a charming, quaint, clean, and comfortable place to stay up in God's country, then this is it! Love the 'back-in-time, down-home' feel ... quilts, wood paneling, porches w/ chairs. Added bonus - locally family owned - great folks! Also, if you happen to be there on a Sunday morning, it would be worth your while to attend the 11:00 service at the beautiful Pineola Presbyterian Church!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend and we can not wait to go back!! What an amazing place! The new owners are as sweet as pie and helpful to the city folk at the sight seeing bit! Price of the room was awesome. There is a christmas tree farm beside and behind the place.

Room Tip: call in advance to make sure they have an open room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Huskins Court while on a motorcycle trip along the BRP and surrounding roads. Simple, clean, cheap! Just what we riders want/need. I just want to spend the night, not a fortune!

Juanita was a sweetheart and super helpful. She even gave me towels for wiping the bike off after the heavy rains had moved through that night. I didn't even have to ask.

There are several different room configurations to suit different needs and it's only a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's not the Ritz, but it was clean (especially the newly remodeled bathroom), comfy and quiet. Cable and WiFi were included for those that can't turn off or tune out. Verizon phones will have strong 3G (don't know about others). The Court is all one level so one is able to park their bike right outside their room for added peace of mind.

I hope Juanita does well in her new venture mostly for selfish reasons. I like knowing I have such a good little spot to stay in the middle of so much good riding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineola
8.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
15.6 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.2 mi away
Smoketree Lodge
Smoketree Lodge
#14 of 18 in Boone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
14.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskins Court and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskins Court and Cottages

Property: Huskins Court and Cottages
Address: Pineola, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Pineola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Huskins Court And Cottages Hotel Pineola
Huskins Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing