We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A life saver!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pineola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huskins Court and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A life saver!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

During a terrible snow storm last weekend, we became stranded in Pineola on our way home from Charlotte. We had no food or supplies and have 2 small children. We were rudely turned away from Pineola Inn because the owner didn't want to interrupt his dinner to help us. We turned back up the slick hill and found this little motel.

When we got out of the car, the owner was incredibly kind. She helped us get our car parked and gave us a personal tour of our room. She even offered to scrounge up some food for us since it was getting late and our kids were hungry. The snow made the roads almost impassable.

The motel is very old but clean and comfortable. It is under new management, and it sounds like she has terrific plans for upgrades. This place was just what we needed at a very reasonable price.

I look forward to staying at this motel again sometime under less stressful circumstances. It would be perfect for a weekend getaway to Linville Falls and Jonas Ridge for tubing!

To the owner: thank you so much for your kindness. You were an angel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
15
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a high-end luxury hotel, this is not it; HOWEVER, if you are looking for a charming, quaint, clean, and comfortable place to stay up in God's country, then this is it! Love the 'back-in-time, down-home' feel ... quilts, wood paneling, porches w/ chairs. Added bonus - locally family owned - great folks! Also, if you happen to be there on a Sunday morning, it would be worth your while to attend the 11:00 service at the beautiful Pineola Presbyterian Church!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend and we can not wait to go back!! What an amazing place! The new owners are as sweet as pie and helpful to the city folk at the sight seeing bit! Price of the room was awesome. There is a christmas tree farm beside and behind the place.

Room Tip: call in advance to make sure they have an open room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Huskins Court while on a motorcycle trip along the BRP and surrounding roads. Simple, clean, cheap! Just what we riders want/need. I just want to spend the night, not a fortune!

Juanita was a sweetheart and super helpful. She even gave me towels for wiping the bike off after the heavy rains had moved through that night. I didn't even have to ask.

There are several different room configurations to suit different needs and it's only a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's not the Ritz, but it was clean (especially the newly remodeled bathroom), comfy and quiet. Cable and WiFi were included for those that can't turn off or tune out. Verizon phones will have strong 3G (don't know about others). The Court is all one level so one is able to park their bike right outside their room for added peace of mind.

I hope Juanita does well in her new venture mostly for selfish reasons. I like knowing I have such a good little spot to stay in the middle of so much good riding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I recently stayed here on a trip to see my father who lives nearby. The place is under new ownership and was very clean and pretty. The cottages and rooms were all being refurbished, and Juanita and her workers are doing an excellent job. I have no complaints about the cottage I stayed in, and I wish the new owners good luck with their investment. I will stay here again on my next trip to NC.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed at Huskins courts several times in the past 7 years. Larry was one heck of a guy and made you feel at home while staying at his court. The stays were always peaceful and restful. The rooms were always clean and organized, and kept very simple to take you back to the time where all the guest would sit on the porches and actually talk to you. Larry would be right there talking and getting to know the guests. The Huskins Court and cottages might of been the last place to have this type of experience. The price was right for the type of rooms and Larry would always take your reservations on the phone with no fancy internet or other update methods. Your pet was always welcomed and appreciated by Larry. A real trip back in time. This will be missed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank joel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

As another has written, Mr Huskins passed away in October, 2011. As a repeat guest for twelve+ years, I pray that this unique property will pass into hands worthy of its heritage.
It is an older property, but Larry's housekeeping and maintenance standards were quite good considering the price. Perhaps other long-time guests will rescue Huskins Court. Larry, R.I.P. Also, sympathies to Larry's cat, Trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank capitalistroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineola
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
15.6 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.2 mi away
Smoketree Lodge
Smoketree Lodge
#14 of 18 in Boone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
14.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskins Court and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskins Court and Cottages

Property: Huskins Court and Cottages
Address: Pineola, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Pineola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Huskins Court And Cottages Hotel Pineola
Huskins Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing