We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood place to stop by for a cold beer!”
Review of Drum & Quill

Drum & Quill
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: The Drum & Quill Public House is located in Old Town Pinehurst, the home of American golf. Our building has served the public for nearly a century, once housing the pharmacy and soda fountain said to be manufactured by James Walker Tufts himself, the founder of Pinehurst. The storefront was later converted to a pub, which it remains today. We are an historic "Public House" just as early public houses often were identified by simple signs that featured creatures such as lions, dolphins, elephants, bulls or swans so knowing how to read a name was not necessary to identify a location. The Drum & Quill Public House honors that tradition with the "Drum" represents Bob "the Drummer" Drum, a golf writer best known for his regular TV spot on CBS, and for his lifelong documentation of Arnold Palmer's creating golf's professional "Grand Slam". The "Quill" represents the power of the writers written word . Remember our motto - "Its More Fun To Eat In A Pub."
Reviewed February 12, 2019

We usually sit at the bar or outside, weather permitting. The booths inside are not the best — in need of an overhaul. Hoping some renovations in the near future will open it up a bit . Love the fish & chips — and the nachos are fantastic too. Bar tenders are friendly and attentive. It’s a favorite of the locals.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolina28315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for allowing us to serve you, Carolina28315. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2019

Every time (2-3 times a year) we visit our senior family members and make Drum & Quill a required visit. Often the music at night during dinner is fine. My mahi mahi tacos were the absolute worst I have ever experienced in any restaurant. Why did I not send it back? Because it sends my elders right over the edge. It's more about how it can be sent out of the kitchen this way. The cabbage is described as dry on the menu. The cabbage was dead and tasted as below an acceptable grade. The salsa was not mango or mango infused or anywhere close. It tasted like tomato salsa out of a jar. Just plain a waste of money. The owner was on his cell the entire time. No interest in customers. What happened Drum and Quill? We love you but what the heck? My husband told me his food was no different. Maybe its the dog days of Winter.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chava143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrumandQuill, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Dear Chava143:

I first want to tell you how sorry I am about your experience because we pride ourselves on our classic pub food and that this review has been forwarded to all managers. We are closed for a week starting January 28th to renovate our kitchen and dining area and bar to serve customers better and will reopen February 4th. I want to personal apologize as owner for being on the phone planning the closing a lot that week prior to it and I promise your experience will not be tolerated and is inconsistent with our past performance and inconsistent with our future since we are investing heavily into serving our customers better. Thanks for helping us get better. Kevin Drum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

Come on Wednesday nights for half off appetizers and half off a bottle of house wine. We love their pork nachos and pimento cheese with wontons. Had a Cali burger that was excellent as well.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimlovesbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrumandQuill, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks a lot! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Sometimes you’re out on the town in the afternoon just relaxing and browsing the village shops. This is how I selected Drum and Quill. The burger and soup were delicious. The staff helpful and attentive. Seemed like several locals we’re enjoying the bar in a way only friends can do. It was quiet because of the time of daily but I have seen the outside area packed the evening and great live music. I hope to try it on an evening like that too

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pbailar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrumandQuill, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks pbailar, we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

It was a last minute thing on a Tuesday and little did we know its Taco Tuesday gave 3 tacos for the price of 2. The Mahi and Korean Steak taco were very good. The pork taco was okay -- it was dry though. Service and ambience were very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hi Bruce M, we really appreciate your feedback and such kind words! We're looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drum & Quill also viewed

 

Been to Drum & Quill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing