We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wednesday Night specials!”
Review of Drum & Quill

Drum & Quill
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: The Drum & Quill Public House is located in Old Town Pinehurst, the home of American golf. Our building has served the public for nearly a century, once housing the pharmacy and soda fountain said to be manufactured by James Walker Tufts himself, the founder of Pinehurst. The storefront was later converted to a pub, which it remains today. We are an historic "Public House" just as early public houses often were identified by simple signs that featured creatures such as lions, dolphins, elephants, bulls or swans so knowing how to read a name was not necessary to identify a location. The Drum & Quill Public House honors that tradition with the "Drum" represents Bob "the Drummer" Drum, a golf writer best known for his regular TV spot on CBS, and for his lifelong documentation of Arnold Palmer's creating golf's professional "Grand Slam". The "Quill" represents the power of the writers written word . Remember our motto - "Its More Fun To Eat In A Pub."
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Come on Wednesday nights for half off appetizers and half off a bottle of house wine. We love their pork nachos and pimento cheese with wontons. Had a Cali burger that was excellent as well.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimlovesbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sometimes you’re out on the town in the afternoon just relaxing and browsing the village shops. This is how I selected Drum and Quill. The burger and soup were delicious. The staff helpful and attentive. Seemed like several locals we’re enjoying the bar in a way only friends can do. It was quiet because of the time of daily but I have seen the outside area packed the evening and great live music. I hope to try it on an evening like that too

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pbailar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

It was a last minute thing on a Tuesday and little did we know its Taco Tuesday gave 3 tacos for the price of 2. The Mahi and Korean Steak taco were very good. The pork taco was okay -- it was dry though. Service and ambience were very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bruce M, we really appreciate your feedback and such kind words! We're looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

We were here for a Saturday lunch during a crowded event weekend at the Inn. People were lined up and many settled for lunch at the bar. Nonetheless, service was friendly and they tried to accommodate guests.
We had the pulled pork sandwiches, wanting to try another version of North Carolina pork. It was okay and the coleslaw was okay; sweet potato fries good. Servings were generous.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Hi ChrisABeaune - We're sorry you didn't have a great experience but appreciate you taking time to leave us a review. We'd like a chance to make things right, so please try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Great food. Great decor. Great ambiance. Great service. Great price. I would love to tell you more but I don’t want this place to get over crowded with tourists. The fish and chips here are out of this world.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 245MikeM245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at Drum & Quill, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

I appreciate your feedback, 245MikeM245, and look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drum & Quill also viewed

 

Been to Drum & Quill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing