We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of those places that is a tradition in Pinehurst....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of those places that is a tradition in Pinehurst....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Holly is a great place to go for lunch! It is "south" and it is "tradition". It was one of the first places that the locals suggested that we visit. This restaurant is one of those independent restaurants that are a lot of fun. It is a bit expensive. Don't go if you are in a hurry (true with large or small parties). Do order the homemade (no calories, ha) potato chips! I have only eaten in the tavern part (small area).If you are ever in town when the azaleas or camellias are blooming, you are in for a pleasant stroll to The Holly! Enjoy the meal, then walk around the lovely little town! I have a home in Pinehurst, and have eaten here numerous times. Keep this place in mind if you are planning to go to The Open next summer (or any other time). I know very little about the attached inn....

Room Tip: Don't know much here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
21
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
reno
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in a standard king bed room at the Holly with is part of the Pinehurst golf resort mecca. Honestly, I thought it reminded me of being in a nursing home complete with rocking chairs and old people. Nothing bad with old folks, I just do not like vacationing in a place reminiscent of my senior home. The food tasted equally like that in a senior home, salty, fatty, for those with worn out taste buds. The tiffany lamp made it dark n gloomy. This golf resort has a lot of history but way too much nursing home, old people aura about it. The pool was really small, the carpet reminded me again of an old old grandmas rug. To make it worse, when it rained the repair man had to run around fixing the tv. the wifi was spotty. the electrical outlets old and they had inadequate plugs, and used multi-outlet converters...scary, not sure what the fire safety standards are for here. Again, if you like staying at your grandmas nursing home, this is for you. After the rain, there was a musty smell to top it off. We had to check out and go modern, too old here for me.

Room Tip: do not stay here unless u like nursing home feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pinehurst Resorts can and do change quoted room rates. You must bring your email confirmation or record your call to reservations. They tried not to honor a room rate because they said the reservation employee should have known this was their busiest time of year and our rate was no longer valid. The reservation had been made three months in advance and they made no attempt to contact us. It was quite a shock to hear the room rate had more than doubled at check in. Attitude from front desk was; nothing we can do... Unacceptable. It was not my husbands responsibility to contact management to find a solution because they were too busy... He's the customer, not his job to fix a problem they created. I called the reservation manager from Virginia and she had no problem honoring the original quote. She was very nice, but the point is, the call should not have been necessary. It wasn't a good start to a tournament.

The hotel itself was great as always. This is a quaint hotel with extremely cozy rooms. It has wonderful charm. If you love a cottage feel, you will love this hotel, if you want a resort feeling, stay at The Carolina.

Pinehurst golf course/club house- What can you say, it's like going to Disneyland. Every employee you come into contact with has a smile on their face, is extremely helpful, constantly ask if your enjoying your stay because they are glad to have you. We travel to numerous courses, many of the accommodations are far superior, but not the courses, no one has course/club house, pro shop employees as friendly with that southern charm as Pinehurst.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of halls with King beds seem larger with larger bathrooms. Some might say rooms are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginiagolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Service was excellent, Lucy made me feel welcome the minute I walked in the door. I was able to get a great deal through a website and enjoyed my two day stay. I spent time at the spa and enjoyed their service as well. I highly recommended this hotel for anyone looking for a pleasant southern experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyncrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I will preface this review by saying that we have stayed at the Pinehurst properties multiple times, but this was absolutely our worst experience. We checked in on Memorial Day Monday and I know that the staff was probably tired from a big morning of check-outs, but our room was REALLY expensive and we deserve a certain level of service. The rate we were quoted was not the rate we received (almost two hundred dollars more per night...) and the desk clerk couldn't (wouldn't?) do anything. He said he'd put us in a nice "upgraded" room, which turned out to be adjacent to the ice machine and to the cleaning supply room (i.e., early wake-up to the sounds of the cart being filled) and facing the main street with its noise . Not the romantic anniversary weekend we were hoping for. A few light bulbs were out, bathroom fixtures rusted - the rooms need some work.

The lack of service continued at the famous breakfast buffet at the Carolina. The host was engrossed on his cell phone and wasn't available to seat us, so we decided to seat ourselves. The wait staff were very nice and kept our coffee cups filled (even offered a to-go cup). The food on the buffet was not as good as it used to be. Perhaps the post-Memorial Day slump again. Dining room was empty. The women's room was out of order (again the host was too engrossed to be bothered, but the woman watering the plants nicely showed me another one further down the hall). The second bathroom was out of soap and the fixtures again were rusty.

The best part of the stay was the Spa massage appointments. The therapist was very good and attentive to our particular needs. Staff at the spa were very nice.

It took 1 week of multiple phone calls to finally get a refund for the rate we were originally quoted. They listened to the tape of the booking call and found that we were quoted the wrong rate - don't you think they could have comp-ed us something for the trouble?

Pinehurst is a wonderful destination, but there are better places to stay than at the Pinehurst Resort (Holly Inn and Carolina Inn) properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke4inNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from three nights at the Holly Inn, part of the beautiful Pinehurst resort property. I enjoy the quirks of old, classic hotels, if they are kept in good condition and are still comfortable. The Holly Inn certainly fits that description, and you are reminded of their extensive history on just about every wall. We stayed on the third floor, and the room was spacious, quiet, and very comfortable with a lovely king sized bed. We had lunch in the bar when we arrived on Mother's Day, but never got around to trying their primary dining room, the 1895 Grill. The lunch in the bar was very good, and I thought reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet, however, I thought a bit over the top at $25 per person. I checked it out and it looked quite ordinary. The staff was uniformly gracious and helpful. In short, we really enjoyed our short stay with the folks at the Holly Inn and would love to visit them again sometime.

Room Tip: Room 301 was very quiet; I had requested a quiet room due to a review I saw here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank presleyTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Holly is the in-town version of the Carolina. The hotel offers the same great service of the Carolina but is in town which is a nice treat. We were put on the bottom floor so our window was very tiny but we appreciated the dark room on a vacation. Putting on makeup and getting dressed was not as great in the dark so brighter lighting/higher floor/larger window would've been appreciated for those activities. The pool doesn't open until Memorial Day (since it's not heated) so we walked/took the shuttle to the Carolina's heated pool. Parking is easy and free. We stayed next to a room with a baby so we were woken up by the screaming child but other than that, the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: At the Holly, ask for a room on levels 2+ or on level 1 facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crobbtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Pinehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 155 Cherokee Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9269
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holly is one of the hotels of Pinehurst Resort, located in the center of the charming Village of Pinehurst. Built in 1895, The Holly was Pinehurst's first hotel. Every detail has been attended to inside and on the spacious grounds. Decorating the walls and floors are a series of natural botanical prints and images reminiscent of times gone by. You'll see the fine touches in every nook from the jewel-toned Tiffany lamps to the reading selection in the library to the comfort of a rocking chair in your guest room. It's no wonder the Holly is a Four-Diamond hotel. The 1895 Grille is the Four-Diamond restaurant inside the Holly. There's also the charming Tavern which offers indoor seating and outdoor dining seasonally. Free resort shuttles will transport you across the resort so there is easy access to golf, spa and all amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing