We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL AND HISTORIC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay here for a week. The golf and tennis are terrific, on wonderful courts and fairways. The location is beautiful. It was not crowded at this time, and we really appreciated that aspect, too. The only negative was that although the food is very good, it is also overpriced and the menu does not offer much vegetarian fare. There are few very good eateries within a close distance. But, other than that, everything else was super positive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screaminglyfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 855 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Terrible massage, very impersonal. Staff not well trained at all! Overpriced for a 45 min massage and then they automatically charge a 20% service charge. Of course, because who would ever tip with such horrible service. Sauna was nice but dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greentara13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I will agree with some of the reviews. The hotel was not the best for such a grand place. The room was just "OK" The spa on the other hand was perfect. You could easily spend the whole day in there even if you were only have a 30 minute treatment. Private hot tub in the woman's area with comfy lounges to take a nap on, the pool just outside the door. The staff was ok but not great. On the other hand........the staff in the restuarants........superior. You must try the 1895 grille, perfection

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank lulubelle3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Pinehurst Resort looks exactly like the photos from the outside. It is a charming property on the National Register of Historic Places. The hotel, however, is quite dated and the walls are paper thin offering no privacy. It is far from the airport and I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone unless they were already in the immediate area or an avid golfer (especially in the heat of the summer).

Here are a few of our comments:

Room
Popcorn ceiling
Poor space maximization with small bathroom and walk in closet with only single bar at back
No in-room Wi-fi; had to use the lobby (slow with weak signal)
Soft beds with no back support
Did not receive wake up call on first morning
No turndown unless you ask for it (fee I believe)
No slippers or robe
One corded phone in the room
IPod docking station alarm clock
Rain shower head with low flow and hard to rinse out shampoo
Ants crawling up the wall
Bath soap smells wonderful - like spicy nutmeg

Spa
20% tip "service charge" included
Cold treatment room and bed never heated
Stone massage fair - worst of the type I have ever had
Nice kids massages and "Twinkle Toes Pedicure"; teen relaxation room
$40 per day spa fee if not receiving a treatment
Relaxation room crowded, humid, and warm adjacent to hot tub and saunas
No aroma in steam shower - I was expecting a hotel scent
No music in relaxation area
Water, tea, coffee, cranberry juice and dried fruit in co-ed pool area (no kids allowed)

Hotel
90 min from RDU
Peaceful setting
Fantastic history and interesting stories
Beautiful exterior with porches and white rocking chairs
Free valet parking
Carpet in hallways soiled and needs to be replaced
Chatty bell hops, almost too friendly/ annoying

Restaurants
Buffet breakfast at the Carolina Room $ 25 per adult, $12.50 per kid
Ryder Cup is a lounge with casual dining and a fun menu with every thing from Key Lime pie to shrimp grits

The "Beach" Club
Very sad attempt at a beach with little more than sand at one end of a lake
Activities include paddle boats, fishing, kayaks
Bus from hotel can shuttle guests for the 10 minute ride

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouristSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed one night at the Carolina Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. If you want to be treated like royalty and have the experience of staying at a place that can transport you back in time, then stay here! We did not meet one staff member who was in a bad mood or grumpy. Everyone was super friendly and attentive. We were put in a very large room, which had a comfortable bed. Our dinner was awesome and when we arrived there was a gift bag on our table with Pinehurst wine glasses. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate. Our waitress Angela even sang to us! We enjoyed the pool, rocking on the porch, and biking around the village. Can't wait to go back for my birthday!! Thanks Angela and Brennan. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Stayed for a three day weekend in hot August. Enjoyed our stay. Valet parking, strong air conditioning, wonderful southern hospitality. Took care of golf clubs delivering them each day to new course automatically. Spa was great, golf courses in excellent shape. Free bikes to ride around. Good restaurants in hotel and village.

Some negatives: no wifi in rooms - only Ethernet which doesn't work on wireless devices like iPhone, etc. (needed because no 3G cell service). If you sleep in late, it gets very loud on the hallways with the maids talking - poor soundproofing.

Overall very nice. Would stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Loved the hotel and the grounds. Room was spacious and well-appointed. Bathroom was the size of a small hotel room. Golf was great. Even #2 while under remodel was worth the time and expense. I will warn those with small children to avoid eating at the restaurants. This is still a resort with clientele that do not want to hear fussy children. If/When I return it will be when they are either older or not on the meal plan. Hotel was very accomodating for children otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dusty1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: $125 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing