We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away.. be warned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2006

Oh, gosh- where to start on explaining the dreary place that we found.

The bar waitresses are tired or just don't care... very sad to wait for service, as if they had nothing else to do but walk very slowly and talk to each other.

the food in the Carolina Room was soooooooo disappointing, maybe because we are used to actual upscale hotels and service but it seemed very poorly done, very sad to experience this level of cuisine for something that was so touted, bland, cold when should be hot, soggy when should be crisp- waiters and help acted as if they were working for the Dept. Of Motor Vehicles- without commitment, care, or flair.

Awful-stay away- quite low on any upscale experience- really they should be embarrassed and ashamed for charging as much as they do.

Or perhaps they should get out of the state more and experience what is really put out there for upscale services at resorts that actually can be recommended for their service levels.

Stayed: April 2006
12  Thank hastababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 853 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2006

The resort staff was friendly and helpful. The public areas are well appointed and very pleasant. The room was a little dated, especially the bathroom. It is a rarity to have to retreive the hairdryer from a hook in the closet in order to dry your hair in the bathroom. It was also curious that a resort of this caliber did not provide robes or coffeemaker in the room. Although the couple we traveled with had turn down service, we did not. We were a part of a golf package. Everything was well organized, but be sure to read the small print. A 10% premium on the total package was assessed for tips. (It did not include the room cleaning staff). The food was wonderful, especially breakfast. This was a great golf experience with just a few upgrades necessary to make it a great resort experience as well. Please note, everyone in Pinehurst goes to bed at 10:00p.m..

7  Thank SwedeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
112
Reviewed March 7, 2006

When booking a recent stay at the Pinehurst resort for my son to play in a golf tournament we were informed by documented letter that we must stay at the Carolina hotel. We booked our stay at the Carolina hotel at over $300 per night for the weekend. Upon check-in I was told that we would be staying 'on the Pinehurst property' down the road in a condominium. The condo was about 1 mile away and does not show up on Pinehurst's own property maps. The train at 3AM right next door was especially pleasing.

I expressed my displeasure with the accomodations to no avail. I contacted Mr. Scott Brewton, EVP and General Manager who told me and wrote me a letter to "Please call me at xxx-xxx-xxxx when you are ready to return and I will personally check availability for you."

As a frequent traveller this was an extremely disappointing experience. Not what one would expect from this type of resort.

So when making plans to go to Pinehurst I must warn you that what you think you are getting may not be after all.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington DC
19
Reviewed February 21, 2006

My girlfriend took me and another couple down to Pinehurst last weekend for a guys golf weekend and girls spa weekend. We arrived at check-in at the Carolina and was welcomed with open doors and smiling faces. Extra pleasant to everyone. Very pleased since we are young and typically are not treated with as much respect as middle-agers.
Holly Inn is full of old charm. The floors are comical, but add that truly historic feeling to the whole Inn. The bed will put yours to shame and is without a doubt the most comfortable any of the four of us has ever slept in. Down mattress pad cover and down duvee....heaven.
Played golf on #8, highly recommended. Superb conditions. Wouldn't even have known it was February except for a frost delay on Sunday and 40 degree temps. Spa was excellent for the women and great running trails and shops. The town is simply charming.
Service at both restaurants was excellent. I actualy felt the food at Holly Inn was better, but the atmosphere of Carolina was more sophisticated.
Look forward to a summer trip down there.
6 hour drive from DC, not too bad when you stop once along the way to stretch the legs.
I think people expect too much when they see the price tags. The service is top notch and what you pay for. People have to remember most of the cost goes to the golfing and spa. Having the great hotel and food is the treat.
HIGHLY Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2006

It is really strange to see how people either love or hate this hotel. I was there last night and am so thankful that it was not more than one night.

The hotel did have good food. I'm surprised at those who had bad food experiences. I had an excellent lunch and dinner, and I dine out a lot and am pretty particular about my food. The prices were pretty reasonable given the quality and the fact that it is a resort. The breakfast this morning had a huge selection of different foods, but quality wise it was just OK. The grits tasted like quick grits. I was underwhelmed.

I had an "upgrade" room, a -big room on corner of 3rd floor with sofa, lots of chairs & tables - I could have had a dance party.

But I had a very super low flow shower head. Could barely get enough water out to wash my hair. The bathroom was roomy but in need of a renovation.

Bed had very scratchy sheets.

The hotel had awful dry air, and every meeting room was hot. A few times I got cold but mostly very hot and very very dry. My eyes and skin are completely dried out.

I went to bed at 11:45 after a long day at a conference. I fell right asleep. I heard a few people coming and going in hall late, but that is to be expected in a hotel.

At 1:30 am, I woke up and heard a very loud vacuuming sound. it went on for 10 mintues. I called the operator and was told they sometimes clean carpet. I asked, very nicely I thought given the circumstances, "You are telling me they clean the carpet in the MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. " The operatore said yes and then switched me to security. The noise was VERY LOUD. There was a van in front of hotel (it's a big hotel) and it looks like they were cleaning from there. After I talked to security, they turned it off, took another 10 minutes rolling up hoses and such. I looked out the window again, and the van people were staring right up at my window, as if the security people told them that the person in my room had complained.

I've heard lots of noise in hotels but never anything like this. Never heard of carpet cleaning at 1:30 a.m.

When I checked out this morning, they didn't ask me how my stay was, so I didn't volunteer anything about the peculiar events of last night, but here's what I thought about for 2 hours after I was awakened.

I'm thinking it's like whatever cruise line that George Smith died on, that maybe someone died during the night and they were cleaning up blood stains.

Bizarre.

If I go there for another conference I will definitely be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lillethj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2005

Step back in time and enjoy the gracious art of relaxing. Everything about this place is wonderful. The staff is delightful and helpful, the rooms are nice, food is delicious and the Spa is amazing! If you long for a fancy urban, rushed, glitzy experience this will not be for you. However, if understated elegance, old fashioned charm, a beutiful setting, and a kick back atmosphere is what you appreciate, then you will enjoy this a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestoftheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

My second visit and I was so excited about the trip. The grounds continue to be manicured, but little else has improved. Customer service is dwindling rapidly and a hospitality course for employees is in order. For the prices they charge, I expect better than I received. Several areas of the hotel are showing age. Let's face it: dirt is dirt. Independent or chain affiliation makes absolutely no difference. Presence of management at every turn, but little, if any, conversation with guests as to how their stay is going or an occasional "hello." It's the basics that are lacking and what a shame. A gorgeous setting, but a severe lack of professionalism and display of genuine hospitality. A new suite property has opened just a short distance away from the Carolina and I may just have to "resort" to making my next reservations with them on my next visit. The product is brand new and I bet they are more appreciative of their guests than I found at Pinehurst. I am truly saddened about my most recent visit. It just shouldn't be this way. I trust others find I am wrong and improvements have been made prior to your visit.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GeorgiaTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: $125 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing