We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My recent disappointment at Pinehurst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2005

My second visit and I was so excited about the trip. The grounds continue to be manicured, but little else has improved. Customer service is dwindling rapidly and a hospitality course for employees is in order. For the prices they charge, I expect better than I received. Several areas of the hotel are showing age. Let's face it: dirt is dirt. Independent or chain affiliation makes absolutely no difference. Presence of management at every turn, but little, if any, conversation with guests as to how their stay is going or an occasional "hello." It's the basics that are lacking and what a shame. A gorgeous setting, but a severe lack of professionalism and display of genuine hospitality. A new suite property has opened just a short distance away from the Carolina and I may just have to "resort" to making my next reservations with them on my next visit. The product is brand new and I bet they are more appreciative of their guests than I found at Pinehurst. I am truly saddened about my most recent visit. It just shouldn't be this way. I trust others find I am wrong and improvements have been made prior to your visit.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GeorgiaTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 854 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2005

Although everyone in my family went to college near the Research Triangle in North Carolina, for some reason, we had never visited Pinehurst and Southern Pines, just 40 miles south of Raliegh. Now that we have discovered the Pinehurst Resort, we will definitely be back again.

I should note that neither my husband or I play golf and that's the reason we'd never visited the Pinehurst Resort which is centered on the 8 golf courses in the area. But, there is a great deal more to this Resort.

The first part of the Resort was built in 1895. Although there have been many changes and expansions, you do get a feel for the history of the place. We stayed at The Manor Inn, the original hotel. With 70 rooms, it is an intimate, boutique hotel right off the village center. The large hotel, The Carolina, has 300 rooms. Best of all , it has a huge front porch with wonderful white rocking chairs.

Both hotels have nice pools and since we were there in the summer, we focused our time on the pools. The village is charming. 15 or 20 little shops, some with golf "themes" but also other interesting inventory.

There are 3 or 4 restaurants in Pinehurst that are not associated with the Resort. We drove over to Southern Pines for real Southern barbeque at "Johns". The food at the Resort looked wonderful and I might consider the American Plan on our next trip.

Altogether, we really liked the ambiance, service, and history of Pinehurst, even if we dont play golf.

4  Thank doveWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CaryandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Falmouth, ME
114
Reviewed June 11, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Falmouth, Maine
113
Reviewed June 7, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
19
Reviewed January 31, 2005

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2004

11  Thank bluland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: $125 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing