We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dad/son trip a memorable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

2nd trip back to Pinehurst and it was just as good as the first trip! My father and I had a great time and for a surprise, not very talked about course go ahead and enjoy #6, not as difficult as the known courses but nonetheless a wonderful and beautiful course to play.
#4 is still awesome and tough and we both were disappointed a bit with #5 this trip.
Staff is excellent at all locations, the 1895 Grill for dinner is highly recommended- don't miss the breakfast buffet at the Carolina...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buyjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 875 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a recent business trip to Pinehurst Resort. The staff is wonderfully gracious and the food is exceptional. The resort is currently renovating key spaces including the Carolina Dining Room. If you visit try the 1895 Restaurant as well, exceptional food and a good wine list.

Room Tip: East wing rooms were recently renovated but are smaller. If you stay in the main section request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed one night at Pinehurst Resort. We had a girls getaway and it was perfect. The Spa was amazing and the town and resort are charming. Would love to come back! My only complaint is the checking in process and checking out process were time consuming and a little confusing.

Room Tip: Be sure to do the spa and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robingp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My 3 friends from elementary school and I spent two night and three days at this golf resort, even though we don't play golf. Why, you ask? Because we wanted to be pampered like all golf guests AND we wanted to enjoy the state of the art spa right next door to the hotel! Our package included two of us per room for two nights and two spa treatments. I chose the signature body massage and the signature facial. The spa area is so much fun with a jacuzzi, pool, and so much more. You can even order lunch in the pool area and spend the whole afternoon there!

We did bike riding, walking around the village with shops, and played a little bit of golf with borrowed putters. The food was delicious in the hotel restaurants and the breakfast (included in the package) was hearty with many options.

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Sound proofing between rooms wasn't as good as it could be. Beautiful upgraded old hotel. Interesting history.

The only negative was that our rooms were on different floors and there was no DVD player connected to the TV. I had brought DVDs of TV shows from our childhood and we had to watch them on my small lap top!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the outdoor pool...rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent resort. Beautiful facility. Immaculate grounds. Fun place to visit. The dining room breakfast is nice, but wildly overpriced. Be sure and explore the grounds, and the Village on foot.
Look for deals, as the experience is worth the trouble. They have shuttles to the golf courses. Be sure and see the clubhouse. This will be home to Both Mens and Women's US Opens in 14! The first time ever for both to be held in same place. Southern Pines also has good golf and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasJhsn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights during a golf tournament. It is a classic old hotel that with a lot of character and history. I found the staff to be wonderfully helpful in all aspects, from valet, desk staff, bell service, to restaurant staff - all wonderful.

The rooms are little dated and on the smallish side, but the bed was very comfortable. A couple observations: 1. There appeared to be a large gap underneath the main door to the room (easily 3/4 inch), it let in a lot of light and outside noise. 2. The shower had a frustrating lack of water pressure. The head appeared to be a nice Kohler rain model, but without pressure it was more of a drizzle than rain. 3. The WiFi was free, unfortunately it was very spotty and frustratingly slow.

The breakfast buffet was top notch. Everything you could ask for. Highly recommend.

The shuttle service was great. No problems getting to/from the golf courses and the hotel.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. If you are a golfer with any sense of history, you will enjoy Pinehurst and The Carolina. Great old photos, trophies, and of course great golf courses.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deacons91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pinehurst delivered as expected for our first visit! What a lovely testiment to old southern ambience, service and hospitality. The Carolina lodge is a quaint old girl with updated rooms- the lobby reminds me of what it must have been like to live in the 1930's. The rooms are very comfortable with modern bathrooms. Service everywhere in the resort is outstanding- the staff tries to anticipate your needs. The golf? well, it's simply outstanding. We played #2, #5 and #8 - each course has a different personality and unique challenges. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#8 of 12 in Southern Pines
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
152 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
4.3 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: $125 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing