We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st impression was oustanding and it only got better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st impression was oustanding and it only got better.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was my first visit to Pinehurst but it will not be my last. Oustanding Staff and Service, beautiful grounds and great accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    182
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
127
227
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've stayed at both the hotel and the Villas next door, and have found both to be outstanding. The Villas are great when traveling with a group or extended family, as they have a very nice common area for lounging, socializing, watching TV, etc. The rooms are well appointed and nicely maintained.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetsAround10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Loved, loved, loved it!! Southern hospitality at its best. History, nostalgia and a spa to melt away the hours after a morning of tennis, golf, bicycle riding or shopping. The food was excellent, great service and amenities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

What a joke. I came here for a conference, thought I was reserving a room in the main hotel, ended up hear. Better rooms at a Hampton Inn for a fraction of the price. From what other attendees tell, main hotel is fine but unless you are with a group Avoid this overpriced motel six

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pleasantstranger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is the second year in a roll we have traveled to Pinehurst for 3 days of golf. If you are a golf, it is the promise land. Not just at Pinehurst, but the entire area. The Resort itself is great and food and drink is included.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixPipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Carolina with our 12 year old grandson and even this discerning young traveller was impressed! However, we were a little disappointed in the room in the Carolina as it didn't quite match the picture of the rooms on their website and felt that the bathroom especially could have done with being given a 'make-over'. The food was excellent and the buffet breakfast was the best we have ever had. We also played golf and the courses we played were just wonderful, Course No 7 being my favourite and Course No 2 being my husbands! The staff, both on the course and off were wonderful and very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family and I visited Pinehurst this past weekend on a whim. We weren't sure where we were staying when we left home and decided to "call on the road". After calling the Pinehurst Resort and Mid-Pines, we decided to stay at the Carolina. We were not disappointed. The service was wonderful, the price was very affordable and our family had a lovely time. I will definitely go back to the Carolina. It was a wonderful way to spend Christmas evening as the hotel was festively decorated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
83 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing