We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite North Carolina Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Winnabow, NC USA 28479
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite North Carolina Destination”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Carolina Hotel first class in every respect......excellent facility for the "Our State" conference....we have attended seven of the "Our State" conferences here. We have never been disappointed...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    177
    62
    31
    21
See reviews for
124
225
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here as part of a wedding that was taking place on-site. We were placed in the "manor" which was removed from where the rest of the wedding guests were, who were in the "carolina". I think we got the the short-end of the stick, as most of the amenities were by the carolina. Or room was decent enough, but cramped and felt somewhat damp. The AC was in an odd location next to the bed, so it blew right onto you.

The actual place itself was nice and we actually took advantage of the free shuttle because of the sudden t-storms, it actually kept us from getting soaked if we were to walk just from the parking lot to a building. The locations where the wedding reception was held was also gorgeous as well.

Would recommend this place for a vacation for golf-lovers. There is also a few cute shops in town too, catered to mostly women, as well.

Room Tip: If you can, specify you want to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Carolina at Pinehurst Resort is a great family hotel. The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, very nice upscaled linens, marble bathrooms and great service staff throughout hotel. The staff was always available to help. The pool and putting green are great for kids after a day of golf. Kids Camp is available if they dont golf. The Ryder Cup is also very kid friendly. Everything including the Spa, shopping ,and resturants, are walking distance and shuttles arevavailable for off property golf courses. We can't wait to come back next August!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our second trip to Pinehurst Resort for Father's Day weekend. This was a wonderful get away. When you stay here, you are treated wonderfully. There is not anything that we can say as a negative. Gosh, even the weather was good. If you have been here, please go. You will be taken care of. Great stay, great place to golf, great place to eat.
Hoping we can come back for our trip Father's Day weekend in 2012.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

It's like going back in time as you drive through the small town and arrive at the front steps of Pinehurst. The decor and food are all excellent-- try restaurants in both buildings and have food delivered to the spa if you like.

My husband is the golfer and loved courses 2,4,5 and 6, saying No.2 is beautiful but terribly difficult. The pro shops definitely cater to men more than women, but there's something to be had for all. There is one cute boutique in the main hotel and a few shops in town (all within walking distance), but this isn't an activity to count on for more than an afternoon.

We really liked the Ryder Cup, which was casual dining and the bar that opens to the veranda. Rocking on the porch with a cold beverage is a *must* for your visit. The formal dining rooms are less formal than we anticipated. If anything, I wanted the dress code to be a little more high brow (coat & tie, for instance) at dinner since the decor and food are so upscale. The food at the lounge/bar comes in enormous portions, and it's good when they get the food right. Example, I ordered a house specialty burger and the specialty toppings were completely forgotten. Tips are included in your stay (with a few exceptions), so wondering when to pull out your wallet is removed from the equation.

The staff was exceedingly nice, though a few asked personal questions that were inappropriate ("how much did you pay for your house?" "how old are you?") . Easily deflected. Benny at the bar was by far our favorite attendant-- he had a relaxed style, was timely, complimentary but not over the top and had a southern charm about him. We tipped him extra.

My mani/pedi was marginal at best. I had to scrape toe nail polish off my skin and had to do file touch-ups on my fingernails back in the room. But the body services were excellent, the locker rooms and pool areas clean and very comfortable.

If we get a chance to re-visit, we'll bring our little ones. It seems kid-friendly during the summer months. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights last week with my son. The rooms are a little small but are excellently decorated, the beds are super comfortable with high quailty linens and down pillows, great bathroom with a huge shower. Flat screen television with plenty of free channels plus pay-per-view options as well. Valet service is also exceptional- I never had tow ait for my vehicle

Even better are the golf courses across the street- if you want to play Pinehurst No.2 golf course staying here is your best shot.

Bobby Jones restaurant in the lobby is first rate- they have the best breakfast I have ever had. Service is super; the people here really go above and beyond to make sure that you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were at Pinehurst Resort for the US KIDS WORLD TEEN Golf Championship event in July 2011. Although Pinehurst can be known as a retirement type community for golfers, we had a wonderful family vacation at the same time as our golf tournament. The 3-bedroom condo was perfect with a kitchen and washer dryer. Plenty of space for our family of four and very inviting to relax in the evening together. Great pool We enjoyed shopping in the village, running around the grounds of the golf course and Carolina hotel and eating lunch at the Ryder Cup grille. In addition to the amazing golf courses, there is plenty to do for the whole family. Try it, you'll like it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Lakeview Condos with view of the lake and easy access to Beach Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
4.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Southern Pines Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing