We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to improve your golf game, you have to come here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I booked this trip for my husband and me because we both enjoy golfing and were looking to improve our games. This is a great place for golf learning and all of my hesitations were pleasantly dismissed upon arrival. I am a high handicap female golfer who was fearful of the atmosphere and challenge of coming to Pinehurst. My hands, arms and head made it admirably through the week (Sunday-Friday) academy. Exceptional instruction, fabulous and plentiful food and great resort accommodations made for a perfect vacation choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureencollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 868 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

Pinehurst Resort, stayed at Carolina Inn, is a grand hotel. We've stayed several times, both at Carolina and Holly Inn. Both are wonderful. My husband loves the golf, some of the best courses anywhere, according to him. We both enjoyed the amenities, the food there is some of the best we've had, and overall a relaxing and fabulous experience.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Brendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Wow.... where do I begin... The golf courses are amazing. I wish I had played #2 before the redesign so I would have something to compare the new layout to. I can't wait to see the 2014 U.S. Open, its going to be amazing to see the course setup. The course is very playable and enjoyable for the average golfer. Also played #5 and #8, both were great courses. Now....on to the food. Breakfast and dinner were included in our package. Don't leave Pinehurst until you have the breakfast buffett in The Carolina Dining Room. So much food so little time. Dinners were amazing too at the Carolina and the 1895. The rooms at the Holly Inn were incredible. Just like being at home. The staffs (hotel, golf courses, restaurants) were the best I have ever experienced anywhere. Treat yourself to a wonderful experience, visit Pinehurt, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBlovespinehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife and I enrolled in the Pinehurst Golf Academy and enjoyed every aspect of our stay; from outstanding instruction to classic "Southern hospitality" to delicious food, we could not have been more satisfied with our stay. We stayed in the Carolina Inn and highly recommend that specific hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Pinehurst is a classy resort from check in to check out, to dining, to assisting with activities, tee times, you name it!! Everyone working at the resort is there to ensure that you have an exceptional experience. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants to choose from and the food was fantastic.

I stayed in a standard King room and there wasn't a dresser in the room. I hung up what I could and the rest had to stay in my suitcase. The closet was a decent size so I kept my suitcase in there to keep it out of the way. Otherwise, I had a fantastic experience!

Unless you are flying into the area in a private aircraft, the other airports are a bit of a distance. I flew into Raleigh, which was about 1.5 hours away but it was a pleasant drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABC0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The best place for relaxation and fun as well. Bikes is available free for ride around the village. And everybody is so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdenicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The service there was excellent ,everyone was so pleasant, patient and courteous. The rooms were spacious and I especially enjoyed having my covers layed back when I would return to the room for the evening. The atmosphere was very relaxing, especially at the Spa Resort. The expression that "everything was available at your fingertips" it really was.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tineperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#8 of 12 in Southern Pines
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
151 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: $125 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing