We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bartender”
Review of The Darling House Pub and Grill - CLOSED

The Darling House Pub and Grill
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Waikoloa, HI
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Bartender”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews and can only go by my experience. Granted, I didn't have food but my friend had the egg appetizer & the fries and chicken strips. He ate all of it. Love the ambiance and the coziness of the restaurant and bar. We sat at the bar, which is my preference being a bartender myself. Lucy,the bartender is probably one of the most personable and attentive bartenders I've met. She made all patrons feel welcome with a quick greeting and after learning I was visiting from Hawaii, even introduced me to some of the regular bar patrons. Her endearing southern accent is genuine as she's a NC native. Call it southern hospitality or I'm inclined to call it the Aloha Spirit, pretty much the same. A great way for me to spend my last night in Pinehurst.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AquacatWaikoloa_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Buffalo food in the wonderful South.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

What a better way to end a day in beautiful Pinehurst than to have a Beef on Weck and Smithwicks at The Darling House. Always find people hanging out and conversing. I'm obviously not the only person who loves to come here. Do not go to the Sandhills without getting a meal here. Like having a great Buffalo mean in a Scotland pub.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Very Impressed”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here our first night in town. My husband had the fish and chips, which he really liked. I had a chicken sandwich which was good. The place is small and extremely loud...especially the bartender. Her voice carries throughout the restaurant. I probably wouldn't go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Standing_Tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish & Chips”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here 4 years ago on a golf vacation, had the best fish & chips. The batter was so thin, crispy and light. Came back again this week (April 2013) and the fish & chips were just as good as we remembered. The staff was extremely friendly, both our waitress and the owner. We will eat here each time we visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I think we got the bad waitress referred to below. She was so rude, though, it was funny, and we got some entertainment out of watching other people's reaction to her. While we waited for our food, which took over an hour, we saw 3 parties get fed up waiting for her and leave. To be fair to her, she was serving alone, but a better attitude would have made us more sympathetic. She threw straws at our table, banged down our refills, I think she was annoyed that I'd found her to ask for refills. We saw someone who was sitting outside come in 3 times to serve himself, and on the third trip he passed a group at the door, carrying ketchup, and said "bad waitress, I'm quicker getting t myself"! And the food, well, the burger and sandwich we got was highly rated, however the haddock fingers and scotch egg were really greasy. It was a lovely location, and it was an experience we won't forget, but not for the right reasons, unfortunately.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Darling House Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing