We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewal at its Best”
Review of Pilot Knob Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilot Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilot Knob Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been tent campers for many years. Normally, we only go to Bed and Breakfast Inns for our late December anniversary. However, we have spent the last two summers traveling many different directions, caring for elderly family members. With a new school year facing us, we desperately needed the camping experience without the hassles. Pilot Knob has been the perfect place! Our cabin is nestled among the trees, with plenty of space from other cabins. Even though we can hear traffic from the nearby highway, we feel as if we are a thousand miles away. The historic cabins are a marvelous blend of tobacco-era construction with modern convenience - a remarkable redemption of a bit of North Carolina history. We have found greatly-needed privacy, wonderful breakfasts, and scenic pool, and best of all, a pace slow enough to renew our bodies and souls. This place and its innkeepers are the best we have found!

Room Tip: The tobacco cabins feature relatively steep stairs to get to the bedroom above. The bathroom is on...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Pilot Knob Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

On our return from OBX we were looking for a place with some personality to wrap up our vacation...searching online as we drove I stumbled onto this amazing little hideaway. There's not much we can say that hasn't been said already. We were in #1--great view of Pilot Knob, awesome rocking chairs on front porch, lots of privacy, a very clean jacuzzi tub (ahhh!) and awesome shower, super comfy bed...our only regrets were that we didn't have time for the pool, lake, or fabulous breakfast we've read so much about. Next time!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DickandJane6986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I wish we could have stayed longer! My husband and I had tickets to the Willie Nelson concert recently held at Jomeokee Park and were lucky enough to get a cabin at the Inn for one night over a weekend. Jenn was so accommodating. The cabins are so unique. Everything was clean and tidy and I particularly love the little balcony off the bedroom. The property is quiet and fantastic for just strolling around. If we had had time I would have loved to paddle around the lake, take off on a hike up Pilot Mountain, or lounge by the pool. I hope that we can go back for another visit before too long!

Room Tip: I can't speak to any of the rooms in the main building of the inn, but the Tobacco Cabins are re...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the Pilot Knob Inn instead of a hotel on our way to our vacation destination. It was the best decision we could have made. We stayed in cabin #4, the cabin was decorated very nice, there is an area with a small table, refrigerator and microwave. The furniture is comfortable. We were able to walk the trails and enjoy the wild life after hours in the car. I had packed a picnic for dinner so we sat in the very comfortable rockers on the front porch and watched the deer while we ate. There is a Jacuzzi tub in the cabin and it was perfect to help relax before going to bed. The bedroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. The whole experience was very romantic. The breakfast was delicious. It was more than we had expected. There is also a pool and a sauna, we did not have a chance to take advantage of but looked very inviting. Jennifer is so friendly and makes you feel like you’ve known her forever. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Pilot Knob Inn Bed and Breakfast is special/unique and has a charm that would be hard to match. The two ladies who prepare breakfast are attentive and efficient and the food is way better than what you get as the usual "free breakfast." This B&B is on the grounds of the Pilot Knob State Park and the setting is the definition of rustic. We stayed in 100+ year old tobacco shack #5... having stayed in #4 two years ago. #4 was better in that the bed was bigger.

Pilot Knob, (the Mount Pilot of the Andy Griffith Show) is a mountain of sorts that can be seen for 50 miles in every direction... except from the Pilot Knob Inn. They have not trimmed the trees on the property and so the view of Pilot Knob from the Pilot Knob Inn is obliterated... rather like going to Niagara Falls and finding out the river had dried up. The excuse offered was that the trees were not trimmed because there were snakes in the trees and the owner was afraid of them.... which sounded like baloney at the time and still does. NOTE to the B&B management...Trim the trees next winter when the snakes are dormant.. and don't take your clientel and reputation for granted.

Room Tip: The tobacco shacks differ, are dark inside, and not really secure. We were fine in #4 two years ago...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McBible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Pastor McLean,
I was quite surprised to read your review. When you mentioned trimming the trees, I honestly thought you were joking. As you can see in the previous review, posted seven days prior to yours, the mountain is very much still in view. We do cut the trees back every winter, but try not to cut in excess to preserve the forest. You are correct, I did mention we did it in the winter, because of the snakes, bees, and other wildlife which use the trees for homes. We never take any of our customers for granted, and are truly grateful for the wonderful business we have. Again as you can see in the previous review, and countless others, the mountain is still very much visible.
Best Wishes!
Jennifer Allen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband & I were going on a driving vacation. We visited St. Louis, Nashville and then needed somewhere to relax and unwind AND BOY DID WE FIND IT!

Being a travel agent for 10 years, I do alot of research before I choose a place to stay. This was our first bed & breakfast so we did not know what to expect.We arrived to find that we were staying in the Southwest Honeymoon suite. From the second you enter your cabin, you feel at home.This cabin had a kitchenet, a dining area, a big bedroom and a bathroon with a big jacuzzi. Jennifer the owner, gives you a welcoming smile and a How y'all doing and Kathy could not be more helpful and sweet. It is a family run business and they truly work hard at making you feel comfortable. The cabins are decorated in different styles and they have something for everyone.
AND THE FOOD! Breakfast is amazing, anything you want and I mean anything. The smells from the kitchen and their warm personalities start the day off right.

There are jacuzzi tubs which feel great after a day of hiking and a beautiful swimming pool out back for just lying in the sun.
But the best part for us were the rocking chairs on the front porch. We sat there for hours and read, did word puzzles and just talked.

If you are looking for a break from the rat race you need give the Pilot Knob Bed & Breakfast a try. YOU WON'T BE SORRY!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago celebrating my wife's birthday. She had never been to a B&B before and was excited. We stayed in the Pilot Knob Suite which is one of the honeymoon suites attached to the main building.

The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and it was great having our own little private hot tub. Breakfast was quick with a wide variety of choices and we were very satisfied with it.

I think we will go back and try one of the cabins sometime.

Two reasons for not giving it a "5" The reservation process get messed up and they did not get our request for the package with snacks and cheesecake. After we arrived I asked about it and they would have brought it but by then we decided to venture out and get dessert on our own.

Someone else had complained about the noise in this suite and they are right. It sounded like the TV in the room next to ours was in our bedroom and could hear the people sneeze and cough. I know you get noise in B&Bs but this was quite distracting. Luckily we turned on the soundmachine app on our phone and it drowned out the TV.

Otherwise, it was a perfect night

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clevetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilot Mountain
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
752 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
609 reviews
18.6 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Knob Inn

Address: 361 New Pilot Knob Lane, P.O. Box 1280, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pilot Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Mountain
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the tobacco barn cabins featured on HGTV and in Southern Living and Our State Magazine, on 100 acres with a lake with boating and fishing. Cabins offer fireplace (gas), and whirlpools for two. Luxurious honeymoon suites with whirlpools or hot tubs with gas logs. All cabins and suites come with full breakfast. All units have wi-fi/central heat & air & Satellite TV ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot Knob Hotel Pilot Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing