We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Strefford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue w
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“holiday”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just stayed for a week and what a lovely place to stay, the annexe is so roomy for 2 people, handy for Ludlow and Shrewsbury, we also had a lovely meal in the Plough inn just a few minutes walk away, would recommend a stay, we are hoping to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panski50
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring the area”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A clean, roomy and comfortable extension to the owner's house. The gas central heating kept the house warm when we were there in late November, and the large TV with Sky was a welcome addition on chilly nights - especially as it was a dark walk to the nearest pub, on a lane with no footpath.

The property is easy to find as it's right beside the A49, but despite this the traffic noise was minimal. The provision on arrival of fresh flowers, wine and fresh milk was a nice touch. The oven was very smoky, which set off the very sensitive smoke alarm several times. The only way to stop it was to flap newspaper at it!

Craven Arms itself is not a great place, but the property is well located for visitng many much nicer places in the area, particularly Church Stretton, Ludlow and Much Wenlock. It's also just up the road from the amazing Stokesay Castle, which is well worth a visit.
Now that we are familiar with the area, I would look to stay in a different location on subsequent visits, just to have easier access to local amenities and be in a place that's pleasant to walk around from the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to other places in the area
Liked least: The oven
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionaandc...
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A spacious home from home”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Very easy to find just off the A49 and attached to a beautiful listed home. The property was bigger than expected, more than ample for two people. The house has everything you need for a week long stay and a large flat screen TV ensures that any rainy days are catered for! It is ideally placed to discover Shropshire and the local pub The Plough Inn, Wistnstow served up a fabulous meal. The owners were helpful but discreet and the two German Shepherd dogs were very friendly!! Loved the fact that you could recycle pretty much anything. Despite being close to the A49 we found the location to be quite peaceful and the house was very warm. Would definitely stay again if planning to visit Shropshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the building
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jarrow Tyne/Wear
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaureenLe...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage in delightful unspoilt English countryside”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious, well maintained cottage which met our every need. Wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend it. The owners were there to meet us and made us feel very welcome. Don't be put off by being close to the main road - it isn't a problem. We hardly used our car all week as the bus stops opposite the cottage going either to Ludlow or out towards Shrewsbury. The scenery is a well kept secret. If you like walking away from the busy Lakes or Dales, then Shropshire is just the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything to like
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casbar3
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Home from home.....and more!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely break we had...just perfect.

The property is situated about one mile from the small town of Craven Arms, which can supply all your shopping requirements and has no charges for parking. On the outskirts of town there is the Discovery Centre which is well worth a visit and from where you can begin many well sign-posted walks. There are also walks to be done from the Annexe and with the aid of OS maps, present little difficulty in following them.

The "Annexe" had everything we needed and some things we didn't. The rooms were all so spacious with top quality fixtures and furnishings...even down to the electric can opener. The 42" plasma tv with Sky was a definite plus and so seldom seen in many rental cottages. Comfortable seating in the lounge and an excellent bed to rest our weary heads after a days walking were always welcome.

Our hosts...Pauline in particular as Paul was busy working most days...were excellent and went out of there way in making our holiday one to remember for all the right reasons.

Although the Annexe is positioned on a busy road (which is indicated in Sykes' brochure) we didn't find this to be a problem at all. First class double glazing and large fences around the cottage nullified most of the noise.

Would we stay here again? You bet. It was without doubt one of the best places we have stayed at in our many years of holidaying this way.

One final thing....we had NO clouds during six of our seven days there. Brilliant.


If you have any questions I can help you with please feel free to send a personal message.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We found it very relaxing in the gazebo with a glass of wine listening to the fish pond.
Liked least: Cannot think of anything.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing